Ping PC Name through MAC OS

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KCSDeveloper, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. KCSDeveloper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #1
    I am unable to ping PC name through MAC OS. whereas if i gave IP address of that PC then it worked fine.

    Can anybody help me?????
    Thanks in advance
    KCS
     
  2. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    What? Pinging a name won't result in anything, unless it's a domain name. Are you talking about a domain name (e.g. domain.com), or the name of your PC (e.g. My Box)?
     
  3. KCSDeveloper thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #3

    Actually I have developed the application which is deployed on PC , and what I want to access that site from the MAC through the PC name ie(http://My Box /index.jsp) which I am unable to do, where as if I access through(http://IP of PC//index.jsp) from MAC then it will work fine.

    I need any solution so that it will work through PC name (My Box) also.

    thanks for ur consideration.
     
  4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    You need to add the PC's domain name and the IP address to the hosts file, either manually or through the NetInfo Manager application. The hosts file looks like this and is similar on most systems:
    Code:
    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1             localhost 
    
     
  5. KCSDeveloper thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #5
    Thanks allot for the reply, can u tell me how to add IP of PC through NetInfo Manager application in MAC, as i am new to MAC. SO that i can access the PC application on MAC OS.

    Early help is highly appreciated.

    thanks
     
  6. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #6
    The file is located in /etc/.

    If you are comfortable working in a *nix shell, just edit /etc/hosts. You will need superuser privileges to make changes to this file. So, in a terminal window, type:

    sudo pico /etc/hosts

    and hit enter.

    Move to the bottom of the window and type in the relevant information (the PC's local IP address, and the hostname you wish to use to access the PC).

    Save the hosts file with ^O followed by Enter and then exit pico with ^X.

    At this point, you should be done.
     
  7. sreedy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Somerset
    #7
    OK open up NetInfo Manager and under machines you should see localhost which is pointing at 127.0.0.1, use the duplicate button* to get a copy of localhost and chnage the ip to your machine you can ping x.x.x.x and the3 name to it's name and leave serves at ./local and save.

    *You may have to unlock (bottom left) to make changes.

    This works for me at work :)
     

Share This Page