Pioneer DVR-109? Revert to Apple ROM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheSpaz, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    Hello, I bought a Pioneer DVR-109AB for my mac pro and I upgraded the Firmware to enable the Double Layer DVD+R DL disc burning. However, I notice that if I leave a DVD or CD in the drive for too long, the drive will spin down and go to sleep... when I go to eject it after, I get an annoying pause for like 10 seconds and the cursor becomes really sluggish and jerky. Then the drive spins up and the disc icon disappears and then reappears again without even ejecting. Then I can go ahead and eject it after all that happens.

    I was wondering if maybe this is a bug found in the new 1.58 firmware for the DVR-109 and I want to revert back to the original Apple Firmware but, I can't find it anywhere. How do I restore the Apple factory firmware?
     
  2. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    DVR-109 is a 2004 Model Number

    I don't know. But I'm curious why/how you came to buy a 2004 DVR model that is about 3 years old for a late 2006 Mac Pro? Current model is DVR-111 and even the DVR-110 is from late 2005. Fry's sells new DVR-111s all the time for $35. Perhaps that would be the way to go.
     
  3. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #3
    I bought it for a few reasons. It was Apple Supported (yes, I realize now that after 10.4.3 Apple Supported burners list is a lot longer).

    The other reason is because I don't like the stock Sony that came in the Mac Pro and $30 wasn't a big deal.
     
  4. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    I Guess Another $35 Won't Be A Big Deal Either Right?

    I'm sure the DVR-110 was supported from day one because Apple used that model in their last generation Dual Core G5 PowerMacs back in October 2005. Looks like another $35 won't be a big deal either right? You can always use the DVR-109 as your second optical and put the Sony in an external case. I doubt you will be able to get a firmware update from Apple.
     
  5. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #5
    Oh great... I got a crappy drive. Hmm... well that sucks. I have it on cable select by the way... should it be on Master?
     
  6. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    Perhaps Master Will Help It Be More Responsive

    If it's your only one on the bus it wouldn't hurt. Maybe that'll help. I'm sorry to be the messenger of those bad facts. I really wasn't trying to make you feel bad or bash you for your mistake. It's easy to mess up buying components if you don't tripple check your model numbers. :(
     
  7. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #7
    It's the top drive in my computer. I have the Sony in the bottom. Should I switch them around?
     
  8. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #8
    Did You Change The Sony Pins To Cable Select When You Moved It Down?

    Master is END of the ATA Cable and Slave is the MIDDLE of the ATA Cable. Or both set on Cable Select. Perhaps the Sony is still set on Master you forgot to put it to cable select when you moved it down?
     
  9. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #9
    I can check but, I'm pretty sure they are both on cable select. Also, am I allowed to have the top drive set to master? and the bottom drive set to cable select?

    Which ATA cable is actually the "end" the top or bottom?
     
  10. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #10
    No Don't Mix Master/Slave and Cable Select Settings.

    No both cable select with the top master on the end of the cable and the bottom slave in the middle of the cable. So either both set to cable select or the top one set to Master hooked to the end of the cable and the bottom one set to Slave hooked to the middle of the cable. One way or the other only.
     
  11. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #11
    Okay... I set the top one to Master and the bottom to Slave. I'm now waiting for the drive to spin down so I can see if it still causes problems. Why aren't you on iChat anyway?

    Edit: Is there a way to manually make the drive spin down so that I don't have to sit and wait for it?

    Edit 2: Nope, still does it.
     
  12. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #12
    I Guess You'll Have To Buy A Newer Pioneer Drive DVR-111

    Bummer. Well we do all have to wait for optical drives to slow down and stop before they eject. But it doesn't take that long on 110 and 111 models. I have both hooked to my Quad G5 and it's never a problem.
     
  13. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #13
    I don't think you understand what I meant. When I eject the disk (only if it has gone to sleep) the drive will be silent for about 10 seconds and my cursor gets all laggy and jumpy while I wait, then the disc disappears like it's about to eject and then it remounts itself without ejecting. By now, it's spinning like as if I just inserted it... then I can hit eject again and it will come right out.

    The question I had before was... is there a way to force the drive to go to sleep so that I can test to see if it still does it? I know the drive has to spin down before it can eject but, if it's sleeping, it has to spin up before it can spin down before it can eject.
     

Share This Page