Pismo G4

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by drastik, Jul 8, 2002.

  1. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #1
    Okay, so the Newertech Pismo G4 upgrades have been out a little while now, des anyone actually have one of these things. I want to do the upgrade, and $300 bills is pretty cheap for a portable G4, but I don't want to go through the hassle of sending it in if I'm just going to take it out again. Anyone out there heard anything?
     
  2. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #2
    Bubba, this has been discussed before... Why don't you ressurect one of those threads and/or view the information there?? :rolleyes:

    Some people.... :p
     
  3. drastik thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
  4. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    I din't see the thread, but any way...

    I would like to place the G4 to my Pismo, the only problem is that ths shipping from and to Venezuela would cost me just $1000 itself!!! and 2 months at list without the Pismo.

    I think is a greate solution.

    Now, who was the one saying the Pismo couldn't use a G4 chip because of blah, blah, blah,?

    Some times this forum is full of BS.
     
  5. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #5
    Is that in Venezuelan dollars or US dollars?? I have never paid more then $50 to ship something the weight of a PowerBook, even overnight. Then again, with all the sh*t that you say has been going on down there, I'm NOT surprised that UPS wouldn't want to go there. :p

    You WON'T see anywhere near the performance of a new PowerBook with that upgrade. A G4 500MHz 'upgrade' will be less then half as fast as the PowerBook G4 800MHz. Main reason... L3 cache. Unless they ship the upgrade with L3 cache as part of it, you simply won't be getting the speed. Add to that, the fact that the new PowerBook G4's have a vastly superior video card, and the gap gets even larger.

    Yes, you are... :p :D

    You also still need to work on your English... Bubba... :p
     
  6. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #6
    Before you go off and start flaming Alpha, mymemory, realise that Alpha is just kidding. :D

    (Or at least I hope he is. :))
     
  7. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #7
    Actually, I wasn't kidding... hitman :eek: :eek: :eek: :p :D

    IF I was kidding, I would have made a comment about his mother... :eek: :D
     
  8. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #8


    Your a bit late using that particular insult. :D Someone in the "ICC and America" thread already called me that. :D Looks like you will have to come up with some more original flames Alpha. :D :D :D
     
  9. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #9
    Alright hit[head]man... Some of us actually have to work for a living... :p
     
  10. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #10
    Sucks to be you. :D
     

Share This Page