Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

7on

macrumors 601
Original poster
Nov 9, 2003
Dress Rosa
A client wants this "digital fragmentation" look where his face slowly breaks off into mosaic. It's not like a solid mosaic but it's like the guy is made of pixels and the wind him blowing away.

I was wondering if there was a filter for this?

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
7on said:
A client wants this "digital fragmentation" look where his face slowly breaks off into mosaic. It's not like a solid mosaic but it's like the guy is made of pixels and the wind him blowing away.

I was wondering if there was a filter for this?
No way man, this is going to be a complex animation. You're going to need to do layering (i.e. background+his face), and then particle animation to guide the pieces of his face off ina wind-like manner. That's about all i can tell you, i've never done this before... but unfortunately, there is no filter to carry out this task.

7on

macrumors 601
Original poster
Nov 9, 2003
Dress Rosa
Well it is a poster so no animation.

Guess I'll just have to put my nose to the grindstone then.

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
Well this is from the most recent Nine Inch Nails album:
nin_with_teeth_trent.jpg

Fukui

macrumors 68000
Jul 19, 2002
7on said:
Well it is a poster so no animation.

Guess I'll just have to put my nose to the grindstone then.
Maybe first a pixelate filter to make it look pixelated, then do a vectorize on it (last I saw this filter was in macromedia flash) so the big pixels are changed to square vectors that you can click and drag out of place to make an effect like leaves blowing away (I'm guessing thats what the client wants?)
If the client wants slowly more pixelated, then you could pixelate at different sizes, vecotrize then layer them...

Just my rambling.:)

Coheebuzz

macrumors 6502a
Oct 10, 2005
Nicosia, Cyprus