Planning on purchasing a G5 friday. Using it for Music Production and Recording

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by kspot, Jul 13, 2004.

1. kspot macrumors newbie

Jul 13, 2004
    Whats up people,

I'm a hiphop music producer/mc and I am planning on buying a powermac g5 (the tower, not the book) on friday.

Ive been using a PC for all my work for the past 3 years and I'm sick of it. They crash easy, doesnt seem right for what I'm doing.

I was wondering if someone can give me the real reasons why a MAC is better for Music Creation?

Because its a known fact that mac's are better than PC's for making music, but nobody really tells me the exact reasons.

My setup plan:

- M-BOX
    - REASON

give me some input

2. cr2sh macrumors 68030

May 28, 2002
    Saying you're buying a g5 indicates clearly that you're getting a tower, they don't make a "book" yet.

Skip the M-Box and pro-tools... save some cash, buy a motu 828 and digital performer....
    Oh by the way, I have one for sale. :)
  3. ratspg macrumors regular

Dec 19, 2002
    Los Angeles, CA

where are you located? i run a recording studio here in los angeles. hip hop / pop / rock... lots of styles come through here and we run a Dual G5 powermac also.... let me know what you're up to i could share info on my set up and see what ur into etc..!

4. Bhennies macrumors 6502

Mar 20, 2004
    NYC & Baltimore
    Pro Tools will smoke on a dual g5- I use LE on a 002 rack with a powerbook g4 1.33 ghz and I have no problems- I haven't maxed it out yet and I use lots and lots of heavy DSP plugs (waves reverbs, tap delays, EQ's etc.). A dual 2.0 should be a good future proof purchase for sure. Have you bought the mbox yet? I would suggest getting the 002rack- ADAT in plus 16 i/o is very nice- mbox is limited to two tracks at once- nice as a "second car" but I wouldn't use it as my primary i/o.