Play iPod through Mac?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by MacKenzie999, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Hey everyone...

    I'd like to be able to play my ipod through my mac at work, without copying all my music onto the mac. I have good speakers attached to the mac that I'd like to run the ipod through, but it's a pain to get behind the mac to swap cables. I'd love to just firewire the ipod and play it that way.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, MD, US
    #2
    All you have to do is set the iPod to manual. When you plug it into any other computer you'll be able to view, play, and manage all the playlists within the iPod thru iTunes on which ever computer.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    ijimk

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Here
    #3
    wow i might try that too...
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #4
    ???

    Well, of course..... Have you never plugged your iPod into a computer before? Or are you looking for a way to play through your mac without plugging anything into it?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Neither, but thanks for the sarcasm. Just looking for a way to play my ipod through a mac it is not linked to. It shows up in my iTunes window but is greyed out and unplayable.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    dan-o-mac

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    How about using a splitter.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #7
    Just do what lilaliend said...I use it like this all the time.

    Go to Preferences, iPod, and there is a setting for "Manual." This makes it so you manually control what goes on and off of your iPod, and it also makes it so you can play songs that are on the iPod through the computer.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    Oh, sorry, I didnt realize that when you have it on automatic upload you can't play your music. I never use automatic upload so I didn't know that.............
     

Share This Page