Play PS3 through 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by antrobus1990, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    #1
    Ive been looking into this recently and I'm not having much luck, so I'm hoping somebody here is able to help.

    I have a 27" Imac (2010 MODEL) which i want to be able to play my ps3 through instead of having it run on the tele. 1) Is this possible? 2) How 3) How much will it cost?

    I've so far only found a few possible solutions to which cost well over £100, but I'm hoping/wanting to know if there is a cheaper alternative that will do the same thing?

    On a few of the devices i have found that will achieve this, I have noticed that the resolution is affected when running the ps3 through the Imac screen due to resolution differences, but is there any way this can be avoided?

    I'm looking for a reasonably cheap yet effective way of doing this, so any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #2
    "Cheap" it won't be - the MDP input didn't last long on the 27" iMac since they switched to Thunderbolt, so the market for the sort of device you want never really took off.

    There are some converters but they are limited to 720p input due to the way the video hardware works in the iMac. There was talk that a device would arrive that could input full 1080p, but it never materialised before the swap to Thunderbolt.

    I'm afraid you're probably out of luck.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #3
    There are guides out there on YouTube that show you how to do it, at least with a mbpro.

    You'll need an easycap USB dongle. You'll also need the driver for MacOS/software for it.

    A How-to can be found here.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #4
    Google: Kanex hd - your problem solved, works on imac 27 2010, does not work with thunderbolt macs
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #5
    Which resolution can this option provide on a 2560x1440 display?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #6
    I'm not certain as I don't have a setup like this currently. I would imagine it'd be 720p, possibly 1080p.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    #7
    @majcom Do you know where one of those can be purchased cheap? e.g second hand, cheapest Ive seen them for is about £120, which seems pretty steep
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #8
    Have no idea, i see that price quite fair;)
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    I have the Dr. Bott Digital Video link for my 27" iMac. I bought it to run my cable system through the MDP through my late 2009 27" iMac. Haven't tried it through my new 2011 iMac with Thunderbolt now that I have a large flat screen. I'll check and see if it works with the newer port. I paid $150 for it 3 years ago. If it does work I'll post the model number and maybe you can find it on Ebay cheaper. That's about the going rate for it though and these types of options are limited so finding them cheap isn't going to be much of an option. I know the "idea" seems like it would be a cheap solution but it's a signal converter and not just a standard HDMI to MDP.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #10
    That dongle is S-VIDEO, so it's SD - max 576p PAL or 480p NTSC.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Scotland, land of the haggis
    #11
    Am interested in this as well, am thinking of trying getting a USB capture box and running it through windows via fusion 5.....any thoughts on this?:)
     
  12. macrumors member

    EPiCDiNGO

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #12
    It is impossible to play on that capture card or any for that matter as it does not render the video in real I have Hauppage Hd pvr and it has 3seconds input lag same as other devices, they are ment for recording not playing on the other screen. What you need is a kanex converter that costs around $200 to be able to use the Xbox on the iMac.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #13
    but it works only on non TB imacs 27 - it will work for OP, but not for those that own 2011/2012 imacs... and it wont work with any 21 incher.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #14
    I use to use a Belkin DVI to HDMi converter. I paid about a $100 for it. This will do what you need it to do.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    #15
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #16
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Scotland, land of the haggis
    #17
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    Is the Intensity Shuttle for thunderbolt enough to play PS3 on the new iMac? or do we need the Intensity Extreme?

    I don't seem to see the difference!?
     
  19. macrumors member

    EPiCDiNGO

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #19
    Dont waste your money there is latency on the input u will NOT be able to play in real time. It is impossible at this time to use the ps3 on the thunderbolt display and play in real time.
     
  20. steve119, Jan 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Scotland, land of the haggis
    #20
    Is that your personal experience with them? I'm not slating you, just wondering how you have came to that conclusion? :)

    Can you not get a minidisplay/thunderbolt adapter and use that with the kanex XD?
     
  21. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #21
    For the pre-Thunderbolt mini-Displayport 27" iMacs, the best device out there is the Atlona AT-HD620. This provided full 1080p out of any DVI/HDMI device you throw at it. I played PS3/Blu-ray and XBOX 360 through this for several years before giving up my late '09 27" iMac and getting a 2012 27" (and a second display for gaming, - curses!). This devices introduces 0.1ms input lag (or 0.01ms lag - I can't remember!) according to Atlona, so either way you're set. You could play fighters or twitch shooters with ease on this setup, and passes the audio to the iMac as well.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    When reading through the website, Atlona mentions that it's working on a Thunderbolt hardware to work with the new iMac's!
    Let's cross our fingers it's rather sooner than later.
     
  23. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    It's said that, as far as I recall, for over a year now. I wouldn't expect anything anytime soon. That said, I'm willing (and hoping) to be surprised.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    :(
     

Share This Page