playing doom3 on a 15inch powerbook

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by me2621a, Jun 17, 2005.

1. me2621a macrumors member

Jun 17, 2005
    im new to mac. i need a ultra mobile and powerful system so people said by a power book. i went looking and likes the 15inch. here is how i would configure it.
    1.67 G4
    1.5GB of ram
    ATI 9700 with 128 VRam
    80gb hard drive
    Combo drive
    Do i have what is required to play doom 3 at the maximum resolution the screen on the power book offers at medium settings with the shadows turned off well?
    please i am planning on making my perchase soon and i need to know this.
  2. eXan macrumors 601

Jan 10, 2005
    Yea, maybe. But I would recommend using a lower res, than default PB's.
  3. TheMasin9 macrumors 6502a

Dec 22, 2004
    Huber Heights, OH
    doom 3

Even though the powerbook is a great, ultra portable system, it does not matter how much gusto it has. Doom 3 was a terrible mac port and it is tuff to run on a 15 incher at maximum resolution and get great framerates. Tiger definately helped the line, but its still not gonna run super great at full res. I run it at a little less than full with some of the eye candy off and get pretty good framerates on the previous gen high end 15 inch (1.5 ghz, 1.25 gig ram, 128 vram).
  4. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

Jun 17, 2005

so then what resolution should i run doom3 at?
    Turning off the shodows and the fog should be enough right?
    one other question what should i run halo at?
    thanks for your coments
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

May 25, 2004
    I just started to play halo (i'm all out of bullets and the electric gun thingy is out of battery,) any way i use the normal settings and it doesn't lag too much, i'm not that picky... now that i think about it, it doesn't really lag at all.
  6. eXan macrumors 601

Jan 10, 2005