Playing games with .dmg's

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by RiseAgainst, Jun 13, 2004.

  1. RiseAgainst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #1
    I heard that it was possible to play games that require the cd to be in wihtout one with a mounted disk image of the disk. I made an image and the game stars to play but errors when looking for a certain file.

    Do i have to do something special to get it ti work right?
     
  2. mr_mac macrumors member

    mr_mac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    Some games relies on the actual CD in the drive to play properly. This prevents pirating. but, in most case, just create a disk image in disk copy and mount it.

    Hope this helps,

    Mrmac
     
  3. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #3
    Images are all I use to play games....

    I'm too lazy to continually switch CDs. ;)
     
  4. About2SwitchOvr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    This is what I do, and it works...


    For CC:G and Civ III:

    I make the disc image onto my Desktop
    I move that disc image over into the SAME game folder that houses the executable CivIII and CC:G files (respectively).
    Then I double click on the Image, and Toast loads up.
    I Mount it,
    Then I click on the executable...

    And works great.

    Let me know if it works!

    -Chris
     
  5. RiseAgainst thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #5
    Stronghold seems to work fine with it mouted to my destop. Myst was the game that was giving me trouble. I guess its just that specific game that work work right.
     

Share This Page