Playing guitar thru garage band

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by breakfastcrew, Aug 10, 2006.

  1. breakfastcrew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #1
    ok so I try plugging my guitar directly into my macbook's input port all I get are feedback and sharp beeps. Then i search and found out that I need to run my guitar through my processor first to get a stronger signal. I still get feedback and beeps?? What am I suppose to do? is my input port defective??
     
  2. e-clipse macrumors 6502

    e-clipse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    #2
    Have you changed your Garageband Preferences from Built-In Mic Input to Built-In Line Input? Do the sounds sound like overdriven guitar amp feedback or do they sound nothing like anything you have ever heard from a guitar before?
     
  3. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #3
    ok, first STOP

    is it a microphone i.e. magnetic input on your Macbook, or is it a line-level input? An electric guitar has a magnetic output, so you definitely don't want to plug your guitar into a line-level port. Plugging a magnetic output into a line-level input is a virtually fool-proof way to blow the input port.

    Also, even if you are using the mic input on your Macbook, it's a virtual certainty that it was not designed to handle the kind of current an electric guitar can generate. So there's still a good chance you'll wind up blowing the port.

    You're going to need to run your guitar through a processor (a mixer actually is the best thing) in order to make it work. An M-Audio FW400 or a Presonus Firebox (or something along those lines) is what you're going to want.
     
  4. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #4
    hahahah ok I hope I didn't break anything but the apple garage band tutorial said to just plug your guitar straight in with a 1/4 to 1/8 adapter of course. And beatsme I did try your way I plug my guitar into my multi effects pedal processor and it still gives me the same sound. And do I need to do what eclipse recommends? I really think it is the built in mic cause when I play it echos and then beeps into a feedback.
     
  5. e-clipse macrumors 6502

    e-clipse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    #5
    It is worth a try. Change your Preferences in Garageband.
     
  6. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #6
    well, if Apple says the port can handle it, then I wouldn't worry too much. I mention this because I've had some experience with feeding too much current into a port not designed to handle it. Works for a while and then...bzzzzzzt.

    though I still wonder: are you using the line-in port, or the mic port?

    yea, change the GB preferences and see what that does.
     
  7. e-clipse macrumors 6502

    e-clipse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    #7
    You can only use either your built in mic or your line in, but not both at the same time. You have to tell Garageband which one to use. It is possible to get rediculous feedback from the an over amplified mic (maxing out the volume by raising volume on Garageband and your system volume.)

    If you do not change the preferences in GB, then you won't be able to hear your guitar thru the processor.
     
  8. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #8
    wait hold on, a guitar signal is very weak and it shouldn't do any damage since it is not even plug into anything. The only power it is getting is from the vibrating strings acting on the magnets. I haven't look at the maunal yet but I believe there are two 1/4 ports on the macbook. One is for digital line out/analog line out and the other is digital line in/analog line in. Then on top of that there is a built in mic. I will look at the preference thing when I get home it should work....I am surprise apple didn't put that on their website. They made it sound so easy.....
     
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    from here:
    electric guitars put out Hi-Z signals, which are not line level. did the GB tutuorial say anything else about plugging in the guitar?
     
  10. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
  11. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    is that "ta da" as in, "this page has helped me and now it's working", or "ta da" as in, "i present to you the video i was talking about so you can watch it and help me."?
     
  12. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #12
    ta da the stupid misleading apple guide that is worthless :)
     
  13. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #13
    let us hear what you're hearing -- maybe it'll lead to an idea.
     
  14. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #14
    There is a constant static noise. If I tap the macbook it plays back the tap and echo until it turns into a constant beep feedback. When I plug my strings it remains static for like a second but then it plays it back really quietly and echos until it too turns into a constant beep feedback.
     
  15. e-clipse macrumors 6502

    e-clipse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    #15
    how strange... you got my curiousity, so I hooked my guitar to it, and it worked fine. Do you make sure to select Line Input in the Audio Preferences in Garageband. It will say, load in drivers for Direct Line Input? Select yes, then add new real instrument track. Click on the track to select it and highlight it. In the bottom right corner you should see an option to monitor the track. Turn this on and turn it's volume fader up all the way.
    You should have dry guitar, which you can change at any time by selecting amp simulation options in the far right panel. If you can't get this to work, I don't know what to tell ya. Maybe, your Macbook has an audio input issue. I still think you have mic selected in garageband preferences.
     
  16. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #16
    you would think so...
     
  17. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #17
    yes it was the preference thing....damn apple thx for all the help.
     
  18. f1slash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #18
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but figured it's better than making a new one.

    I can't get my guitar to record in GB with my MBP. I have followed the apple online tutorials, changed the MBP sound preferences to line-in, and the GB preferences to line-in. All tutorials say it might be quiet but I'm getting 100% silence, not quiet.

    Cables and adaptors work elsewhere. There's no sound when I try recording plugging/unplugging the cords so maybe my line-in port is dead (which would suck as the MBP is barely a month old and already had a screen failure).

    Edit: the levels do jump when I plug/unplug the cable from the computer so I guess the jack isn't dead after all. Hmm... any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  19. LERsince1991 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    check your levels on all the settings you can find and your guitar (thats pretty obvious). Mine worked straight away.
    Make sure the track isn't muted, turn 'monitor on' and put some headphones on so you would be able to hear it. Try changing the effect some are really quiet. make sure the track is active (click on it) and make sure its armed to record so you can hear it through the monitor... Can't think what else... Should work... Sound preferences in the system settings?
     
  20. gouvernor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #20
    Mono

    I had some issues a while back when iLife 09 first came out, but I chose Real Instrument then chose a mono input and it let me play my acoustic/electric ovation through my MacBook Pro with only an adapter on the instrument side. I am not sure if the pre-amp built into the guitar makes a difference though. I wish I had it in front of me to get more detailed, but that's what I can remember for now.

    Leo
     
  21. rebels23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #21
    I have the same issue plugging in my acoustic electric to my Mac Pro's line-level in the back. I use a 1/8" to 1/4" stereo adapter and I get nothing.
     
  22. rdeckert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #22
    Go iMic. My favorite piece of recording equipment for my acoustic guitar.
     
  23. robotluvhottub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #23
    I AM HERE TO THE RESCUE i feel sorry for you all, i have it working perfectly

    My guitar is plugged directly into the macbook input port no amp

    it is very very simple i will tell you the secret

    step 1 under preferences/audio make sure system input is selected

    now make a new basic track

    here is the important step under track info, turn monitor 'on'

    YOU ARE DONE AND YOUR WELCOME
     

Share This Page