Please convince me to be a happy Mac user

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by beethovengirl, Jul 1, 2004.

1. beethovengirl macrumors regular

No, I'm not a troll. I've been using Macs for over 10 years now, and I've always been a big Mac fan. However, I've recently become a bit disillusioned with my computer. First, I cannot print to the laser printers in my dorm because they require KLPR authentication, and KLPR has not been written for Mac OS X. So if I want to print on my dorm's printers, I have to convert the document to a postscript file, upload it onto my school's UNIX account, then print with lpr or psrev [if I want to print pg 2-3, for example]. This is incredibly awkward and time-consuming. I have complained to my school about this discrimination against Mac users, and they just told me it was not a priority for them to fix.

Second, I have a new Rev B 12" iBook 1 GHz with 768 MB RAM. This should be pretty fast for someone who uses it mostly for web surfing, e-mail, and iTunes, right? Well, whenever I quit Safari, it hangs for 2 minutes. When I restarted my computer today [before quitting Safari], I got a message saying, "The app Safari failed to quit and is not responding. If you wish to continue to logout by Force Quitting..." Force Quitting so I can log out?! I may as well be Ctrl-Alt-Deleting on a crappy Dell laptop. Plus, this past weekend, I used some Pentium 4's at a library, and Internet Explorer was so much faster than Safari. I'm on a 100 Mbps ethernet connection, so I don't think one can blame the speed of my ethernet connection.

Please console me! :(

2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

crazzyeddie

The authentication with the laser printer I can't help you with... just sounds like a stupid system.