PLEASE HELP! Disable unknown firewall in OSX!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacQuest, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. MacQuest macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #1
    PLEASE HELP! I need to disable unknown firewall software in Mac OSX Panther [10.3.9]!

    Everytime I click on the Firewall tab in the Sharing pane of System Preferences I get the foloowing message:
    ________________________________________________________________

    Other firewall software is running on your computer.
    (To change the Apple firewall settings, turn off the other firewall software.)
    ________________________________________________________________

    I have administrative privilages, but how can I find out what that other firewall software is so that I can disable it?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. kiwi-in-uk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #2
    I had this happen once or twice when for some reason I turned off the OS X firewall then started Win XP under VPC.
     
  3. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #3
    I don't use windows or VPC. I just need to find out what the firewall software that seems to be running in the background is so that I can disable it.
     
  4. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #4
    Do you have Norton installed? If so, good luck, it's a pain in the ass getting all of the files associated with it (since most are invisible) and delete.

    HAve you looked in ACTIVITY MONITOR yet for the process that's running?
     
  5. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #5
    No, No, I do not have Norton installed nor have I ever. I looked in Activity Monitor but the problem is that I don't know what I am looking at. Some of the processes that are running are simply named but some are not, and those are the ones that I'm unsure about quitting.

    How do I know which one could be a firewall?
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    First try a restart.

    Second, close all widgets. Close all known programs, safari, mail, etc. Then give us a screenshot of your activity monitor. Maybe we can figure something out.
     
  7. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #7
    Okay, will do.
     
  8. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #8
    Here's the screenshot. Don't mind the window to the far right, that's my goof. All the current processes are on the left.

    Thanks for your guys' support! [This stupid firewall thing is KILLING me!]

    - MacQuest
     

    Attached Files:

  9. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #9
    Here's the ****ng alert I get everytime i click on the firewall tab:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    You need to reset the firewall but unfortunately, I don't exactly remember. It's something to do with ipfw [-f | -q] flush
     
  11. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #11
    I see nothing running that would be a firewall.

    type this in the terminal
    rm -rf /Library/Preferences/com.apple.sharing.firewall.plist

    That will remove the firewall preferences. Maybe it will do the trick.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    I remember I had this problem a couple of years ago when I was ehem...testing some software and ran a script to close one port during startup to prevent the software from "phoning home". Then when I tried to enable OS X' firewall I got that exact same message. Soon got rid of both software and script... ;)

    Have you installed any third party stuff that might close ports (not necessarily any scenario close to the one I describe above, there are countless entirely legal programs out there that will close one or more ports). The software doesn't even have to be running, the port(s) might be closed during startup by a script or even a single command.
     
  13. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #13
    I had the same problem when I updated to Jaguar. Flushing the status through the ipfw command did the trick but I don't have that certain shell script that I saved since I can't get to that disk drive.
     
  14. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #14
    That's easy. The command would be:
    ipfw flush

    EDIT: actually I think you need root access to do this. Type this in the terminal instead and enter your password when asked:
    sudo ipfw flush
     
  15. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #15
    WHOOPEE! I could cyber-kiss you... if I were cyber-gay. But I don't "swing" that way, or anyway, when it comes to being gay.

    I'm a poet and didn't know it!

    THANKS ALL!!!
     
  16. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #16
    You may be thanking me, but you got to give bousozoku an assist. It was his idea, I just told you how to do it. Anyway, glad you got it to work.
     
  17. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #17
    We Philly-area people gotta stick together. :D I'm glad my bad experience years ago could help someone else today.
     
  18. MacQuest thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #18
    THANKS bousozuku!!!

    I hope you have many more bad experiences that you can help me with in the future!

    Wait a minute... that's not nice.

    :D
     
  19. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #19
    I'm sure that I do. Mac OS X is almost as much of a pain as it is a treasure. :D

    I'm glad things worked out for u. That error drove me to re-install the operating system, only to find out about 3 hours after that that there was an easy fix.
     

Share This Page