Please Help! Disk Utility "Resource Busy"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by octoberdeath, Aug 23, 2006.

  1. octoberdeath macrumors regular

    octoberdeath

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    #1
    the screen on my Macbook Pro is some how cracked on the inside and has begun leaking liquid crystal on the inside of the screen. well i have to send it in to Apple and i received the box to send it in this past friday but being in the position i'm in i have had to use it and haven't sent my computer in yet. anyway i want to back up my hard drive just in case something happens...well i go to disk utility to do just that and i select my hard drive and tell it i want to make a read-only image and that i want to save it on my external harddrive... and then it tells me that "Unable to create disk "____" resource busy" !!! what in the world does that mean. i can't find it anywhere on the apple support page. can someone please help me fast! i need to send my computer off to get fixed.
     
  2. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #2
    That'll happen because your Mac's hard drive is in use. Boot from the install disk and then use Disk Utility to create a disk image.
     
  3. rockandrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #3
    That will definitely solve your problem. Good luck with it all! Sucks about your screen. :(
     
  4. b0ned0me macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #4
    Or quickly download superduper and use that, since it does not seem to have this issue.
     
  5. sprale macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    #5
    I get the same error, but in a different situation. I have a disc image already. I connect a Mac I want to re-image via Firewire. I try to restore the image to the connected drive, presto, ERROR! WTF?
     
  6. MacGimliNZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #6
    Had the same problem - found a solution

    I've just been trying to create a disk image of my Boot Drive and came across the same error message.

    I was booting off an external HD which I use as my tech tool box and saving to another partition on the external HD, that didn't work, tried booting from the install disk and opening up Disk Utility, same result.

    Did some googling and found where someone suggested you 'Unmount' the drive you are trying to image, and it worked!!! :)

    My Boot Drive is happily imaging as I type! :D

    Edit: Wow, I just see this thread was started 2 years ago. Hopefully the OP found the solution before now!!
     
  7. jesterfilms macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #7
    Resource Error

    Hello,
    I am having the same issue. I cant get the drive to mount. But I can see it in disk utility, I cant erase, repair, partition, etc etc. It is an external lacie drive, but the other day it made a popping noise and now it isnt working. What si the best format ultility to use outside of Mac Os 10 Disk Ulitity?

    Please help email me at JesterFilms@gmail.com
     
  8. todderoni macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #8
    I had the dreaded 'resource busy' error when trying to reformat a hard disk on my Mac Mini (Intel 1.66) that had Boot Camp installed on a disk that I had created 2 partitions (1 for OS X, 1 for WinXP). This error occurred while booted from the Leopard Install Disk, and using Disk Utility that is available from the 'Welcome' screen. Here's what I had to do...

    1) From Disk Utility, select one of the partitions. Erase just this partition (not the entire disk).
    2) Repeat this for each partition.
    3) Reboot from the Installation Disk and relaunch Disk Utility.
    4) Now erase/reformat the entire disk.
    5) Install Leopard!
     

Share This Page