Please help me choose.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by azzurri000, Jan 23, 2007.

1. azzurri000 macrumors 6502

Hi everyone. My current situation is that I own the base config of the current MBP c2d. Unfortunately, I am not too crazy about the screen. It is the 9c60 model, and it is terribly grainy. I have had a couple of replacements already, and the screens have all been the same.

At this point, I think that I could probably replace it with a highly specced iMac or a very low specced mac pro.

Right before I purchased my MBP, I started playing counter-strike source on a shared PC. In the past couple of months I have become addicted to that game, and I have tried playing it on my MBP using CrossOver, but the fans go crazy. The game itself seems decent, but I don't want to wreck my laptop this way.

I guess what I am wondering, is whether I should choose the 20" iMac or the Power Mac. I love the compact size of the iMac, and the fact that I would not have to buy a separate LCD... but is the screen quality decent?

Should I choose the iMac or the Power Mac? Thanks in advance!!

2. Stadsport macrumors regular

The screen on my boyfriend's Core Duo iMac doesn't have any problems. A buddy has a C2D MacBook Pro and while the screen isn't TOO grainy, it's got some horribly uneven lighting.
    In any case, I wouldn't worry about the fans going--that's their job. Unless its overheating (meaning the fans aren't enough!) or it's burning you (play on a desk, use a mouse!), I wouldn't worry about it, and I definitely wouldn't let this drive you to buy a new computer.
    My MacBook's (non-pro) fans get going pretty fast when I've been playing Guild Wars of a while, but they're FANS, they make noise.

3. azzurri000 thread starter macrumors 6502

Hi, thanks for the reply :) I guess my worry was that my laptop would overheat, anyway. I'm happy to hear that your gaming experience has been good.