Please help me fix my iPod

Discussion in 'iPod' started by geekay306, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. geekay306 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    So, I go to update my iPod and SOMEHOW all my music gets deleted.... which is a bitch but I'm like.. well it's old.. I'll just reupload it all. But now, when I connect it to do that, iTunes says I need to restore factory settings. Grumble grumble. So I put the software in, get the iPod software updater window open.. and I click restore to factory settings. Instead of a progress bar, I get that spinning color pinwheel, you know, the frustrating one. It's been an hour, no progress.



    any help would be amazing.
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    anyways, as iGary asked, what gerneration, sized etc....

    besides that i would go ahead and disconect the ipod of force quit the restore and try again, it wouldnt hurt to give it another go, if that still wont work, i would try to take it into an Apple store, or maybe give it ago with a different computer
     
  4. Sol macrumors 68000

    Sol

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Do it this way.

    Load iTunes and then plug in the iPod. The iPod Updater should load automatically and you can use it to update the firmware. After that iTunes will sync your library.
     
  5. geekay306 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    I'm not sure what the generation is but I got it 3 years ago this upcoming June, it's a 15GB. Anyways, thank you for all your advice, but when I was trying to do what you suggested... it just wouldn't update. I think I'm just going to get a new one, he's run his course. Thank you so much, though. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Chappers macrumors 68020

    Chappers

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Location:
    At home
    #6
    Don't give up - phone Apple - go to an Apple store genius bar.

    Or maybe you just want a new one.
     
  7. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #7
    Sounds like you want an excuse for a new one.

    Go for it. :D
     
  8. geekay306 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    actually... yeah... i mean 3 years is a long time fore one of those.. and before i get a spoiled princess line... i'm buying it for myself. :)
     
  9. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    Try using disk utility to repair the iPod's HD, then reinstall the software.
     
  10. parrothead macrumors 6502a

    parrothead

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    #10
    My 30 GB 3g iPod has done this a few times. It happens mostly when I plug the iPod into a firewire hub instead of directly into the machine. Every once in a while it does it anyway though. Just unplug the iPod, and use the manual reset. You may have to do this a couple of times. Other things to try are to restart the computer, both with the iPod not plugged into it, and with it plugged in. If problems continue, do a software restore on the iPod. Funny I never had any problems at all with my old 20GB 2g. It still has it's original battery life while my much newer one has about half of it.
     

Share This Page