Please help me switch to a Mac!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by zpmqxonw, Feb 17, 2005.

1. zpmqxonw macrumors newbie

Feb 14, 2005
    I am a high school student, soon to be college freshman at our state university.

My Dell continues to turn on and off on me, the power supply keeps short-circuiting, and to top it all off the keyboard likes play a little game with me where it decides to not type random letters, so that on all my papers I have to go back and decide which letter I typed, but it ignored.

Fed up with all of this, I ordered a Mac Mini on February 6. I cancelled the order though because I realized I would really like a portable to take with me to the library and classes. The Mac Mini also was a lot more expensive then I had thought with all of the upgrades and I realized if I was gonna spend $800, I could get a decent portable with specs close to the Mac Mini.

Ideally, I'd like to buy a used/refurbished Titainum PowerBook, because I think they look a lot sleeker then the iBook, but I don't know if it's worth it to buy a slower powerbook vs. an almost new iBook.

In conclusion, I was just hoping that people on this board could give me a little advice about what would be best for my needs an 867 mhz PowerBook, or 1.0 Ghz iBook?

Thanks in Advance, you guys always give great advice! :D
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Apr 3, 2004
    Adelaide, Australia
    I second that notion. However, I think the iBooks look better than the PowerBooks. It just seems like a better idea to get the newer computer, and the iBook will satisfy most people's needs.
  3. paulypants macrumors 6502a

Jun 17, 2003
    Buffalo, NY
    Definitley the 12" iBook. Great machine, especially for under a grand.
  4. Mavimao macrumors 6502a

Feb 16, 2005
    Lyon, France