[PLEASE HELP] Why won't my system preferences recognize my password?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bellatfrz, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #1
    Okay, so i just bought a macbook pro and i want to install adobe flash player. I already download adobe flash player and it's my finder folder. I still need to install it and when I tried to install it, it says I need my username and password. I reckon it meant my apple id, i typed my username and password, but it says it's INCORRECT when I know it's definitely correct.

    I tried to go to the system preferences > users & groups > and tried to change my password. But when I typed my password it says IT'S INCORRECT! I've already changed my password twice in the apple id site, but it's still incorrect in my system preferences.

    I asked my sister who has a macbook pro and she said she didn't need to use any password or username. What should I do? Now I can't watch any vids or anything that contains flash.. :(
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    The user name it's asking for is not your Apple ID. It's your user name on your computer, which you can find by clicking the  on the left side of your menu bar at the top of your screen, then look at the bottom of the menu where it says "Log Out XXXX", where XXXX is your username. The password is your administrator password which you use to log into your computer or to make certain system modifications or install most apps.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #3
    And how should I know my password? Is it in the apple box/documents ?
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    No, you would have chosen it when you initially turned on your Mac and set it up. It's not a password that Apple provides. It's one that you provide.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #5
    Are you sure? Because when I turned on my Mac the first time there isn't any password that I should write.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #6
    Then just type your username in the box with no password if you didn't set one up.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #7
    I /have/ to insert the password to install the adobe flash player. There isn't any choice.
     
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, I'm sure. When you first turn on a new Mac it leads you through the welcome process and asks you to choose your user name and password.

    Mac OS X: Changing or resetting an account password
    See "Resetting the original administrator account password" in the link above.

    You can't use your Mac if you don't have a user account set up.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Sounds like the OP bought it 2nd hand and the seller didn't format the HDD or something.

    GGJstudios is correct in all of this, it is something that would have been created when first setting up the machine and it is different from your Apple ID
     

Share This Page