Please Help with MS Word

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mcmike100, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. mcmike100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #1
    I'm a recent switcher but I got a bad surprise today when I tried to open my resume (created in Word on Windows) in Word on my new Powerbook. I'd spent a long time cutting down my resume so it was exactly one page. However, on the Mac it refuses to fit it all on one page and a little spills over onto a second. All the margins are the same so why is it different?

    Also, if I run the compatibility report, does that mean that it's definitely going to look the same on a Windows PC as it does on my Mac?

    Thanks
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    What font did you use on your PC? This often happens when the font is one that you don't have on your Mac, and Word is forced to auto-replace.
     
  3. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
  4. jamdr macrumors 6502a

    jamdr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    It might be a widow/orphan issue. To turn it off, select all the text, go to paragraph under the format menu, swithc the tab to line/page breaks and make sure widow/orphan control is not selected.
     
  5. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #5
    Thanks, that helped a little. It moved it up one line but some still leaks over.
     
  6. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    please dont bump threads

    have you tried adjusting the font and size of the font? that would probably be the best way to correct the problem, also you can change the marings a bit to make it work the way you want

    the compatibility report lets you know what versions of Word the file will open alright in, and formatted the same in without problems
     
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Well you could always tweak it back to fit on a page on your mac, and then save as PDF and distribute that to all your potential employers. This way it will always look the same ;)
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    Most fonts behave slightly different on Macs and PC, there is now work around that... kingjr3's suggestion is probably the best you're gonna get...
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Yeah, I don't know if it'll make you feel better, but my general experience has been that formatting between Word on PC and Mac is consistent. Just yesterday, one of my advisors sent me an edit of an abstract I'm submitting with the comment that it was two lines too long, after he edited it, on his PC, and it was the same on my Mac.
     
  11. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #11
    Ahh, that's aggravating. I'd assumed that if I used the same program with the same font it would look the same.

    I hate to distribute it as a PDF since PDFs suck on the PC. I guess I'll have to though. How do you do that? I don't see it in the save types.
     
  12. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #12
    It's in the Print dialog. Might not make sense at first, but since it is an output format, it is in a good place. Maybe Apple should add "Create PDF" to the services menu.
     
  13. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #13
    Not sure why they suck on PC, but at least they'll look the same :D
     
  14. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #14
    Thanks. PDFs suck on the PC because they take forever to open and Adobe Reader sucks since often it'll display an update message behind everything so you think the program's frozen until you minimize everything and notice it. PDFs don't open quickly at all like they do on the Mac.
     
  15. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #15
    Thats what I thought.

    Check this out (it actually works)
    http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=11041

    Or this (if you need a GUI)
    http://www.tnk-bootblock.co.uk/prods/misc/index.php (Adobe SpeedUp)
     
  16. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #16
    Interesting - thanks. Hopefully the employers I send my resume to have also read this or they might just give up opening my resume in frustration ;)
     

Share This Page