Please help!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by appletime, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. appletime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    I'm planning on ordering my iMac G5 from the U.S. and plan on shipping it internationally to where I am by Fed-Ex or DHL. But first, I need to know the shipping weight of the "17 model box.

    Does anyone here own the 17 model? And do you still have the box? I'd like to know how much it weighs. It would help me greatly. :)

    Thank you!
     
  2. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #2
    8.4Kg for the iMac and I'd allow say 2Kg Max. for the box etc.

    Don't forget you'll fry a US iMac if you plug it striaght into a European power socket without a power converter (110v US/240v EU).
     
  3. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3

    Thanks for the reply. :) Do you have the box dimensions? It seems like I have to have them in order to get the price quote.

    I thought the rev.B Imac's were given a universal power cord? And where can I get a power converter?

    Sorry I'm asking too many questions. I'm very new to all of this.

    Thank you!
     
  4. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #4
    The box is in the basement but for a rough idea check the dimensions from the spec. page of the appale site and add 4" in each plane.

    I know that at least a couple of people in these forums fried their US sorced iMacs in the UK when they were first released last year. Try a search for the threads.
    And one more thing, I don't think the warrenty for desktops is worldwide unlike that for laptops (which also travel happily regardless of voltages)
     
  5. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5

    Thanks. I hope someone here can clear things up about the power cords. I wouldn't want to fry my first Mac. LOL.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I think the power chord issue was only for the original G5 iMacs and the current ones are fine. I have a 17 inch box right beside me and it's about 23 x 53 x 53 centimetres. :)
     
  7. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #7
    I never heard of a power 'cord' issue but I know that that the first iMac were not compatible with the voltage from EU power supply when imported from the US. Appletime I'd check this out before you plug it in, you'll need more than just a cheap airport EU spec. plug/socket adapter to step down the voltage.


    An extract from Apple support site on power supply types
    iMac
    iMac G5 (Ambient Light Sensor) Auto-Switching
    iMac G5 - all models Auto-Switching EXCEPT models sold in the US and Japan (these models are preset)
    iMac G3 and G4 - all models Auto-Switching


    Although the product specs show a range of 100-240volts, not sure I'd risk it without a little more info?
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8

    :D

    Yeah, it's getting late over here. I was talking about the same thing though - the voltage issue between different iMacs depending on where they were bought. My bad. :eek:
     
  9. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    Thank you so much. :) And the exact weight? Is 10.4 kgs right?


    Again, thank you!
     
  10. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #10
    You're right. I think it would be best if I check first with Apple and see if it's OK for use overseas?
     
  11. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Bump. :) I hope someone can tell me the exact weight.
     
  12. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #12
    From www.apple.com/imac (under tech specs):

    "Electrical and environmental requirements
    Meets ENERGY STAR requirements
    Line voltage: 100-240V AC
    Frequency: 50Hz to 60Hz, single phase
    Maximum continuous power: 180W
    Operating temperature: 50° to 95° F (10° to 35° C)
    Storage temperature: -40° to 185° F (-40° to 85° C)
    Relative humidity: 5% to 95% noncondensing
    Maximum altitude: 10,000 feet"

    If you scroll all the way down it's in the middle of the right column. It seems you should need a power converter on the new iMacs, which I believe has been discussed in the forums before (too lazy to do a search :))
    I would check the weight of my iMac's box, but I don't have a scale. I checked the TNT label, but no luck on the weight of the total package there.
     
  13. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #13
    Thanks erickg. :) I'll do a search on power converters for iMac's. I still hope someone can give me the exact weight of the box the iMac ships in. I need to prepare my finances and plan my budget.
     
  14. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #14
  15. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
  16. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #16
    If the voltage and hertz in your country fall within the range given by erickg then all you need is an adapter so that you can plug it into the wall.
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  18. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18

    Will I need a special kind of adapter? Or will any wall plug do?
     
  19. Vanilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    I've gotta say your strategy of shipping from the US to "where you are" sounds pretty risky, purely because your warranty will not be valid.

    If you have any of the issues (loud fan, overheating, dead pixels etc.) at arrival or soon after that people have suffered I'm pretty sure having the machine outside of the warranty region (i.e. where it was purchased) will mean you're going to be hosed.

    These issues are thankfully rare now but even so I wouldn't willingly put myself in such an exposed situation. Something to ponder in any event.
    Vanilla
     
  20. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #20

    Thank you for your opinion. I plan on taking the risk anyhow and if I do get unlucky then it will by my own fault. iMac's here cost about $2,500.00 for the entry level model. A very big difference. And I live in a tax-free country, so I am not worried about being taxed at customs.

    I planned this all out and I will be saving a lot. And if I do get a refurbished model, is it still possible for them to have problems? Are there cases when refurbished products get problems?
     
  21. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #21
    Where are you planning to ship to?


    ...
    Almost certainly there'll be cases just as there are with brand new.
     
  22. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #22
    I plan on shipping it to Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It's a tax-free country. And the country runs on 220 volts.
     

Share This Page