Plugins for OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nigel_t, Nov 30, 2001.

  1. nigel_t macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    #1
    I think OS X is great and I i'm glad everyone is moving to it and sftwre is being developed for it and all that. But i'm a pro video editor/visual effects artist and I have not heard anybody mention plugins for AE,FCP,PS and so on for OS X, has anybody heard anything yet. I've got a fairly large investment in plugins for AE & PS ,they better upgrade them.

    Nigel.
     
  2. ronnyb7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    #2
    plug-ins for osx

    Hey Nigel,
    I'm in the same field as you, editing and visual fx, and I can totally understand your concern; however, the plug-in architecture is independent from os x (as far as I know), because you can run Photoshop in os x's emulation mode, and all the plugins should work...
     
  3. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
  4. ronnyb7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    #4
    audio plug-ins

    Epa chamo,
    I think the audio plug-ins should work as well, so long as the main app runs under emulation... I haven't switched to os x yet (I'm waiting for Final Cut Pro for OS X to be released) so I haven't tried After Effects under os x, but I remember reading that it was close to completion.
    Peace.
     
  5. nigel_t thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    #5
    plugins must be native OS X

    hey ronny:
    I saw AE for OS X on http://www.macrumors.com some time last week. I'm also waiting for FCP for OS X to be released. but th e thing is I want the plugins to be running native, not in classic. So when I fully go to OS X, because i have not gone yet, I'll have my gammot of plugs to work with.
     
  6. ronnyb7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    #6
    AE plug-ins for os x

    Nigel,
    If I understand the way these things work properly, the plug-ins don't make any calls to os x directly, but to AE. I don't think Adobe would make the mistake of changing their plug-in architecture and leave a very large number of users and developers in the dark. I don't know this first hand, but I'm sure an email to Adobe tech support would clarify the issue.
    Peace.
     
  7. iH8Quark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Big Shoulders
    #7
    Any more info...

    on whether or not third party after effects plugins will work under AE 5.5 on OSX (native, not classic)?

    I have so much money in plugins, but the "no dual processor" thing in OS 9 in killing me.

    If anybody knows for sure, I'd love to know.
     

Share This Page