PLZ HELP!!AirTunes/Remote Speakers/AirPort Express

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lynziwow, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. lynziwow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #1
    I've been using my airport express for about 2 weeks now and I finally decided to try out AirTunes. After installing the mini RCA jack to our stereo, my housemate had the "remote speakers" menu pop up on his PC which is sharing the internet through a switch, and he was able to stream his iTunes library to the remote speakers wonderfully.

    Although the Airport Express is flawlessly providing me with wireless broadband on my 20" G5 iMac w/ iSight, iTunes is not popping up with the remote speakers menu!

    The internet works fine, so I just can't understand why iTunes can't recognize the AirPort.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #2
    Under iTunes>Preferences>Advanced, is "Look for remote speakers connected with AirTunes" checked?




    irmongoose
     
  3. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #3
    :(

    it sure is, and has been for that matter.

    thanks for the suggestion, anyways.

    anybody else?
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    is his pc wired network and your mac is wireless or vice versa?
     
  5. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #5
    yes!!


    yes, that is the case, his pc is wired to the switch (along with an xbox) and my iMac is wireless. would that be the problem? in which case, how do i make my computer the primary supplier of airtunes?
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    you have to tell me your entire network setup. from what it sound like you have a main router then you have the airport express and a switch plugged into it? is your router a wifi router if so which one are you using to connect to the internet. my guess is it has to do with a bonjour + subnet issue.

    you can check to see if your mac can see your airport airtunes by going to http://homepage.mac.com/amandacartier/istumbler.net/ and downloading istumbler. running it will so active wifi, also if you click on bonjour, you should see two entries, you airport express name and AirTunes. If you don't see airtunes your mac isn't finding the airtunes port or the bonjour broadcast.
     
  7. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #7
    my lack of remote speakers saga continues, here's my connection setup

    so, my connections are like this:

    Comcast Cable Modem connected to
    Linksys 10/100 5-Port Switch which goes to
    - (1) wired X-Box
    - (1) wired PC
    - (1) airport express

    *note* just as a test, yesterday I unplugged the switch and connected the cable modem directly to my airport. still, no remote speaker option popped up in my iTunes. after reconnecting the switch after about 2 hours, my housemate was still able to stream Airtunes from his wired PC.
     
  8. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #8
    are you sure you connecting to your particular network? In otherwords you might be connected to your neighbors wifi which could explain everything.

    did you download the software that i mention above?
     
  9. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #9
    iStumbler

    ok, when I run iStumbler and click on Bonjour, under local it displays my computer's name, and under that it displays my airport express's name.

    upon clicking on my airport express, it shows airtunes and airport in the next column.

    does this mean that my computer DOES recognize airtunes? my iTunes is still not popping up with the remote speakers menu.
     
  10. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #10
    to eliminate something simple, you have clicked (in iTunes) on the bottom right and tried to select your airport express from the pick box? The box should say "computer" then you can select from a list when you press the arrows.

    It seems you can see the airport express network wise. Do you have your firewall enabled on your mac? You can check in preferences->sharing->firewall tab. If you do that might be the problem. Disable it and then trying closing and opening itunes so it will try and find your airport express. if this is the problem and you want your firewall on, I can tell you how to leave it and still play music.

    the next thing i would try is to turn off your airport or wireless card on your mac and plug into directly to your switch. This will eliminate and itunes or some problem your mac. My guess is still a networking issue. if this test works, then you will need to try a little different wireless configuration perhaps.
     
  11. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #11
    Try opening the 'itunes music sharing' port in your firewall list if your firewall is activated. The firewall options are under the 'Sharing' preference pane in 'System Preferences.' I had to do this in order to get airport express to stream music, but I was reminded by itunes with a pop up window to do it.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    I'm running AirTunes fine without opening the iTunes sharing port in the firewall.

    Have you set up the AirPort Express to Enable AirTunes in AirPort Admin Utility (under the tab Music)? I don't think that was enabled by default on my Express...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #13
    If his housemate can stream music to it then that option has to be enabled already.
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    I guess so... but since both the iTunes preferences and firewall has been suggsted I'm running out of ideas... ;)
     
  15. lynziwow thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    CALIIFORNIA
    #15
    yar.

    so thanks for all the advice folks, but i've tried it all and still, no remote speakers. is this something i can call applecare about?

    (i've never called applecare before)
     
  16. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #16
    i dunno, i never had applecare, but i imagine they would help you ;)

    my guess is it has to do with the network configuration of your airport express. i imagine your linksys is actually a router with it own dhcp server.

    on the internet tab in airport admin is "Distribute IP addresses" unchecked? try that.
     

Share This Page