PM G5 Dual 1.8 4GB RAM - How useful??

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by seattle67fstbck, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    #1
    Having been going back and forth between a dual g5 1.8 w/ 4gb ram and a 2.0 C2D mini- Ended up getting a way better deal on the G5 and now am wondering to what extent is this machine going to be useful? Originally I envisioned using it strickly as a server, but it seems like it should be capable of so much more-
    Anybody have any recommendations (I already have a MBP to use as my primary machine) ??
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #2
    That's a plenty capable machine, and very expandable... you should be able to plunk down 16 GB RAM.

    It'll be good for photoshopping, Aperture/Lightroom, should be fine for video editing too (FCS etc).

    It's not as fast as your MBP, but you can have a hell of a lot more storage (and RAM) in it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    iGrant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Abingdon
    #3
    That is all true except for the ram. There were two models of the Dual 1.8Ghz G5s, one with 4 slots for memory and one with 8 slots for memory. Each slot can hold a maximum of 1gig.

    I have the 8 gig model and I love my G5, its my Tivo unit and it works like a champ. I am so glad I got it instead of a Mini!!!!

    -iGrant
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    I got the dual 2.0 late 2005 model (supports 16 gigs of ram, 4 pci-e slots) instead of a new mini. I love it. Aside from being a G5 and soon to be unsupported its amazing. It benchmarks the same as my macbook which is saying something considering the age difference.

    4 gigs of ram is more then enough for anything too. That machine should scream with leopard on it!
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    Oh hm. I'd thought that it was only the 1.6 that was crippled like that. I also thought that Barefeats had shown you could actually use 2 GB DIMMs..... was that on a different model, then?
     
  6. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    The Dual-Processor G5s (that is, all models up to 2 GHz which were produced before October 2005) use PC3200 DDR memory, the maximum RAM module is 1 GB

    The Dual-core G5s (2 GHz and up) introduced Oct 2005 use DDR2-533 memory and can take 2 GB modules.

    Note that there is an overlap in speed at the 2 GHz mark, so you have to be careful in specifying which machine you have.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    I recently bought a used dual 2.0 G5 with 5 gigs of Ram (close to what you have) and I was impressed with it's speed using Photoshop CS2. I'm not an experienced computer user, but I was doing 300mg files with reasonable speed. With the expansion options, expecially the graphic cards, a second HD for a scratch disk, I think the dual 1.8 G5 is a great option. Right now they sell for decent prices on Craig's list. If you are patient like I was, a very good deal will swing your way with all the features you want.

    I am going to stick with CS2 and Tiger so that I can squeeze out the performance of what the G5 was designed for. Hopefully getting the previous generation of software is an option for you.

    Mike
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #8
    Leopard

    A good dual G5 will rock with Leopard as Leopard is designed to take more advantage of multiple processors than Tiger ever did.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    I've heard conflicting reports on that, and would love to hear from some designers on it, in practical terms (i.e., noticeable performance). I had heard that Leopard actually runs slower on G5s, and then others say it runs faster. So far I've stuck with Tiger...
     

Share This Page