politics and economics

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by fatfish, May 11, 2003.

1. fatfish macrumors 6502

fatfish

New member, I have been reading this forum for a few months now, following in the main, discussions about the next generation chip (almost certainly now PPC970).

Been using macs for about 8 years, before that I didn't know what a computer was and wasn't aware of microsoft until about 97. Have only really been rooting around in my system for the last few years. Until recently I had no interest in specs and speculation, but lately I've become paranoid I'm paying a lot more cash for a lot less machine.

I've decided to take an interest in what Apple can offer me in the near future

I've spent some time reading about technology, but so far as politics and economics are concerned, I'm a complete novice.

Can anyone please explain the following:

http://forums.macrumors.com/images/smilies/wink.gifApple Macintosh - What is apple and what is Macintosh, I note that they produce 1 set of accounts, but Apple seem to be the software guys and Macintosh, the hardware producers.

http://forums.macrumors.com/images/smilies/wink.gifMarket Share - What does this mean? When I first became aware of MS in 97, I was told Apple or Macintosh or what ever, had a 15% share of the market, now I'm hearing figures of 5, 3 and 2%.

But is this software sales, OS software sales, Hardware sales and do these figures relate to volume sales or $ sales or are they sales at all?

2. Ugg macrumors 68000

Ugg

your links didn't work for me so wasn't able to see what they had to say. Apple is the name of the company, Macintosh is the name of one of their computers, iMac, Lisa, Performa, Powermac are other names you'll see listed. The most current operating system is OS X, code named Jaguar. One of the biggest advantages of Apple computers is that the hardware and the software are made by the same company, therefore there are fewer problems.