Poll: Are you Folding?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Zeke, Jun 11, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #1
    With only 100 active users and 2000 people answering polls there's a much larger base to draw from...so we should see why people aren't.
    Are you folding?


    Answers:
    What's Folding?
    Yes, for Team MacRumors
    Yes, for some other team.
    Yes, but what's a Team?
    No, don't want to.
    No, computer's not fast enough.
    No, I want to but I don't know how.
    No, I have a PC and thus can't fold for MacRumors.
    No, I'd rather look for aliens.
     
  2. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    yes, for macrumors team


    most people who see the front page don't bother going much deeper... certainly not into distributed folding.


    still, we could expect maybe another 100 or so reasonably
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #3
    Yes, for Team MacRumors

    Though I am using a PC to fold, and so are quite a few other members of Team MacRumors.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #4
    Yeah, I use 10 PC's but I thought maybe that's why some people didn't fold...I submitted this poll idea a while back but they didn't put it up. So I figured maybe enough people will post that it'll go to the front page...maybe someone will make it a poll too...who knows.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #5
    Ummm yeah most of the power of this team comes PC's.

    And rower (do mod's have the power) to make this into a real poll... atleast submit the idea to Arn when he has nothing better to put on a poll.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #6
    Yes, for Team MacRumors. Using an iMac, iBook, and a few old PCs. They may not be much, but they do the job.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #7
    Yep, folding for Macrumors Team Folding. Last time I checked, I'm somewhere in 30's rank-wise.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #8
    I should be #10 in the next 2 days. I've been chugging away seriously the past few days though. Much more than the past...
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #9
    Certainly,
    and like hell, but

    "Yes, for some other team." ( Luxembourg 11170 )
     
  10. pEZ
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
  11. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #11
    mods can't "really" make a poll either... they'd have to do some work to get it going

    but submitting it to arn isn't a bad idea... get the idea of d.c. out in the main area...
     
  12. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #12
    yes, but for another team (box set authentic -- 31506)

    by making my own team, i've gotten 9 others to start folding.
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
    Yeah, arn's the only one with "poll powers" these days. If enough people ask (nicely), he'll probably make one.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    at the end of the hall
  15. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #15
    yes with ~40-51 processors a week, most of them 1GHz+ PCs

    i'm ranked 23 for the whole project

    all for 3446

    i also make some helpful folding scripts
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    mangoman

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Location:
    Second Floor
    #16
    OK. I'm in...

    Read the Stanford page (scanned it) and figure this is a good idea. One thing I didn't catch (yes, I'm lazy today...sorry): How does this folding info get zapped back to the proper folks?

    I'm off to get the screensaver going on my 933.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #17
    Yes, for Team MacRumors


    This thread should be somewhere else, like free talk, its like posting a "Do you use a mac" anywhere in the MR forum
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    jethroted

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Cyberspace
    #18
    Yes, for Team MacRumors, although all the computers I use are not macs. Mostly pc's.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #19
    Re: OK. I'm in...

    Ah cool, it gets 'zapped' when every your computer is connected to the internet.

    Or you can set it to set it to connect to the internet when it finishes a unit.
     
  20. macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #20
    Yes, for MacRumors. Well, I hope the machines I installed folding on at school are folding. ;)

    I don't like to fold on my computer. Despite what people say I think it is bad for the CPU.

    -scem0
     
  21. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #21
    And I say the only way to keep your computer 'running' is to never un-pack it.

    You may be able to keep it 'running' forever if you never open the box.

    *sigh*

    It doesn't overload anything, it doesn't burn out anything, etc.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #22
    Are you using a vaporware Intel CPU that explodes if you try to do any real work? CPUs are designed to compute. Unless you have cooling problems, there's really no reason that a Mac or any other real computer shouldn't be used for computing. I'm more worried about the heat from the PowerMac's power supply than the heat being generated by the G4s.
     
  23. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #23
    If you read the help and faq section of the Folding website you will see that there have been some problems with some PC using the gromacs optimized files. They actually get way too hot. This is documented. It appears the chip was never designed to run those sorts of calculations all the time as the G4 was.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
  25. macrumors 65816

    arogge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #25
    That's ridiculous. With proper cooling, a CPU should be able to run with a 100 percent load continuously. No optimized program code should be able to overload it.
     

Share This Page