Poll: How much memory on your Power Mac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rafacq, Aug 23, 2008.

?

How much memory on your Power Mac?

Poll closed Sep 6, 2008.
  1. Less than 1 Gig?

    12.2%
  2. 1<2 Gigs?

    13.5%
  3. 2<3 Gigs?

    8.1%
  4. 3<4 Gigs?

    6.8%
  5. 4<5 Gigs?

    5.4%
  6. 5<6 Gigs?

    13.5%
  7. 6<8 Gigs?

    9.5%
  8. 8 or more Gigs?

    31.1%
  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    Just wondering what is the average amount of RAM people install in their Power Macs?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #2
    3gb
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    My powermac is getting pretty old, a pm G4 400, AGP, but acting primarily as a file server it still runs quite well. It even runs Tiger. And it holds a 64mb, a 128 mb, a 256 mb and a 512 mb RAM chips, for a total of ~950 MB (it has been slowly upgraded over the years :)). And I still say it is one of the most well-made computers in existence, >8 years old and still going strong.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #4
    My dead G5 has 1.5Gb in it, and my faster B&W G3 has 1Gb in it.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    My main machine.... maxed out 768 MB Beige G3..... 512 MB in a 733 MHz QS, and 512 MB interleaved in a PowerMac 9600 :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    monkey86

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    512 x 4 = 2Gb in my G4 FW800 xD
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #7
    896 megs in my G4/500DP, 768 megs in my G4/400, 96 megs in my 6500/225 :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #8
    1GB on my 1.1GHz PowerPC 750 B/W RevB has 1GB of PC100 RAM.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    6gb on a PPC G5 dual 2.0 ghz. And it runs great. :)
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Djmckee

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #10
    829MB in My G4 I think
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #11
    10 GB on the Mac Pro in my signature, but I have to admit that I rarely use more than ~5 GB at a time...
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #12
    3.5GB in my G5.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #13
    WTF!?!?!?!?!?

    A MAC PRO'S NOT A POWER MAC!!!!!
    WHAT KIND OF APPLE GEEK ARE YOU?!?!?!?!!???
    YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF!!!
    YOU'RE NOT DESERVING OF THE APPLE BRAND LIFE STYLE!!!!


    (haha, totally kidding, i just had to say something since you were the first one to mention a non powerpc system :D:D;) )
     
  14. macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #14
    5 gigs in my G5, soon to be 8 and then on to 16 eventually.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #15
    Wow! i am surprised at how many people have 8 or more Gigs or memory! I am just bumping mine from 1.5G to 5.5G, but the comments I have heard, is don't expect miracles in performance improvement! If that is the case, why are so many people putting so much memory on their Macs? Games?
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #16
    video/photoshop work lots of times.

    i don't think games really use that much RAM typically.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    monkey86

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #17
    4 gig :) all you need for light usage!
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #18
    I have 6, but I actually bought 4 of it for my windows box, turned out the motherboard didn't support 4 sticks of OCZ and it was a major issue. So the G5 for got the ram, and I got a new 4 gig kit for windows box.

    How much do I use on average of the g5? No more then 2. :p
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    To give you an idea, I have 6gb and I usually end up with pageouts after an hour or two. Of course, I work extensively in CS2, ProTools, and Final Cut, sometimes simultaneously, so...
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #20
    3GB, when working most of it is used. Still have four slots free.
    Right now I've got 7 programs open, 1 Gig free, but can have as many as 15 open when multi tasking.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #21
    Which tool is best to check memory usage?
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #22
    Currently using 2x512MB factory modules and 6x1GB Kingston modules for a total of 7GB.

    I'll likely yank it all out and replace with 4x2GB modules just to have room to grow as needed.
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #23
    I just use Activity Monitor, found in Applications>Utilities.
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    gibbz

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    National Weather Center
    #24
    removed. I am a retard and didn't pay attention to Power Mac. My apologies.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #25
    lol i had a imac g3 350mhz no firewire 60gb hd 192mb and tiger, and gave it away to my aunt and its still running stong even runs garage band :eek:
     

Share This Page