Poll: Which Power Mac?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by eXan, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #1
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Subject. Please give.

    Mod note: This was posted before I changed the thread title, so it did actually make sense before :)
     
  3. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #3
    His poll question:

    If you had a choice, what would you choose?
    Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz
    Power Mac G5 Single 2.5 GHz
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    I think I'll start a poll, it will ask

    "Would you click on a blind hyperlink in a post, without any knowledge of what was there? Or would you pass because you thought it too risky" Supplementary question "Would it affect your decision if the link were to a server in another country?"
     
  5. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    I would lean as too risky with the location being the kicker that said not a good idea at all.
     
  6. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    Neither, my current machine isn't that far below either of them. And in truth a choice between those two would depend on what the machine was being used for. And of course a single 2. PowerMac doesn't exist right no, so the question is kinda moot.
     
  7. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    Sorry guys for not explaining that link above. :(
    Do you afraid of something like virus? lol. You have a Mac :)

    As for not existing G5 single 2.5, I was just curious what people would choose. I belive single proc running @ higher clock speed would be a choice for gamers, and dual @ lower clock speed would be suited more for pros.

    And whats so bad if the server is in the other country? :confused:
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Maybe they don't have a fix to their browser to prevent domain spoofing yet. ;)

    Hmmm...I didn't vote. Because I don't really care. I understand the question. But I hope to never buy another desktop computer again in my life, and for my computing needs, that is pretty feasible. :D

    I guess I would choose a DP configuration in general, however, because I frequently multitask, and I probably use at least some apps that are properly threaded, so that I would get good benefit from two processors. But really I would have to see some benchmarks if that specific decision ever came in front of me.

    Not that anyone is likely to start putting discrete multiple processors in Apple-sized notebooks anytime soon. I also don't intend to buy any computer that weighs more than 5 pounds again in my life. ;)

    Now if I could persuade Apple to make a higher-end 12" or smaller notebook, with some more resolution than the PB/iBook 12", hmm....now that would be compelling. Especially if it could have a couple of gigs of RAM and run for about 10 hours on a battery. :p

    EDIT: BTW, isn't the rule of thumb that, at best, a DP machine is likely to be roughly as fast as a single proc machine with a processor 1.6-1.8x as fast as the single processor speed on that machine? Like a 1.8 Dual would perform in the real world like a 2.8-3.2 GHz single, approximately, at best, and could be almost as slow as 1.8 single, in the other limiting case, if it were running just one application that did not support threading? So I guess it's a somewhat fair question. I'd still go with the computer that showed some evidence of being faster in actual benchmarks related to my kinda use....
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    For better or worse, the .ru TLD has a reputation as a harbor of rogue websites. 10% of the porn, cheap software/watches, get rich quick and fraud spam that I get directs to servers within .ru .
    Chinese hosts are of course the largest offenders (68%)
    Report on countries hosting the most spam-payload websites:
    http://www.commtouch.com//Site/News_Events/pr_content.asp?news_id=318&cat_id=1

    Article on "OEM" software scam:
    http://www.joewein.de/sw/spam-oem-software.htm

    I started blocking all incoming email from .ru, .br, .my, .cn and several other country domains when my spam mail hit 1,000 per day. The sad truth is that it is not worth it to me to sort through 100,000 spam mails from your country in order to get one legitimate email from you. While it is true that much spam comes from .com and .ca as well, the spam:good ratio is lower: I get too much "good" mail from these domains to block them entirely, and I have to use different methods.

    .kr is a special case: not much spam originates from there, but for some reason the South Korean educational system does a very poor job securing their servers, and Korean servers are hugely abused as open relays and open proxies for spam (>20% of worldwide spam passes through Korea).

    So: Would I click on a link to a server if I didn't know what was there? No. And I would think twice more if the server were in China, Hong Kong, Eastern Europe or South America.

    Edit: Apologies, I do know that Vladivostok is actually closer to me (4300 mi.) than it is to Moscow (5800 mi). Is Primorsky Krai considered Asian because of location or European because of nationality?
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    :eek:

    You poor, poor, dear! No one deserves that.... :( Well, maybe George W. Bush. :D But aside from him, no one deserves that.
     
  11. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    I used to be a zealot reporting spam; but I'd spend 2 hours reporting to abuse desks and I would get only about a 1% postitive response from the ISPs the spam originated from.

    Now I just build filters and block as much as possible, and I've brought down the # that make it through to my inbox to about 50 a day.
     
  12. eXan thread starter macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #12
    Well I did't think about that, I guess Russia is European country because the capital is in Europe.
    (our government thinks that Russia is just Moscow :mad: )
     
  13. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  14. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    What's the point of this comparing non-existent hardware with a current model?
     
  15. BillHarrison macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #15
    Not to mention, the qualifier of "if you had a choice" Well duh, if I had a choice, of course the faster one.

    Is there more to the question. LOL
     
  16. mcadam macrumors 6502a

    mcadam

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    københavn
    #16
    So, here's a stupid question to you, cause I really don't know - wich one is the faster computer: the G5 DUAL 1.8 Ghz or
    the G5 SINGLE 2.5 Ghz

    ?

    A
     
  17. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #17
    The point is, as stated early in the thread, that you cannot decide which is fastest without considering what you gonna use it for... :rolleyes:

    Edit: Just as mcadam also said... I gotta start refreshing threads before posting... ;)
     
  18. ziwi macrumors 65816

    ziwi

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Right back where I started...
    #18
    I think the dual 1.8 as some of the apps I use are MP aware.
     
  19. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #19
    If I was going to buy a new PowerMac today, and money was not an issue, I'd choose the Dual 2.5 GHz machine. However, neither of those things are true - I don't plan to buy another Mac until February 2007, and I haven't yet saved enough money to purchase the PowerMac of my dreams. Don't worry - I've taken reality checks into account, like the fact that dual displays won't fit on my current desk as long as the other things on it are still there. Dual 30 inch displays probably won't fit even if I clear the desk of everything.
     
  20. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #20
    I applaud the fact that you have set a goal for yourself and are saving to reach that goal. Having almost two years to wait can't be all that easy. Since that will be after MacWorld 2007, you should have the latest technology available. ;)
     
  21. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #21
    The dual 1.8GHz would be a better buy over a single 2.5Ghz machine. Simply you can do more work efficiently on a dual. If you are encoding mp3, compressing some videos, burning DVD and surfing the net at the same time, it would be faster on the dual since OSX can divide tasks among the programs, even if the programs themselves are not multithreaded.
     
  22. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #22
    [​IMG]

    Is this the iMac-based PowerMac G5 vs. a Rev. A or B PowerMac.

    If it's a iMac-Based PowerMac G5 @ 2.5GHz vs. a Rev. A DP PowerMac 1.8 --then you need to start asking about memory and the apps.

    A 1/3 FSB with half the memory and a higher clock speed will have a handicap compared to a 1/2 FSB and double the memory...

    Then there is the question of video card, and whether or not one of the machines is running a RAID.

    Or is it a FrankenMac running the newest 2.5GHz module, and then you have to ask about 4 DIMMs or 8.

    Way too many PowerMac G5s... :rolleyes:
     
  23. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #23
    I completely failed to notice that the 2.5 GHz option was single processor. I should have voted for the dual-CPU machine, but there's nothing I can do about that now.
     

Share This Page