Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AlexandraMassey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2015
I'm a writer and I'd like to buy a Mac because I hear it's dictation tool is fantastic. I also want some USB ports so I can plug things in. But don't need to play CD's. I won't be playing games on it but I love the iBook software so I can format books. I think a Mac Book Pro is what I need. However, I'm also a poorly paid writer so I'm looking for a 2nd hand model. My budget is about $700. Can you tell me which model I should go for?

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
I'm a writer and I'd like to buy a Mac because I hear it's dictation tool is fantastic. I also wat some USB ports so I ca plug thigs in. But don't need to play CD's. I won't be playing games on it but I love the iBook software so I can format books. I think a Mac Book Pro is what I need. However, I'm also a poorly paid writer so I'm looking for a 2nd hand model. My budget is about $700. Can you tell me which model I should go for?
First, what country are you from? Prices vary from country to country.

I'll assume that you're in the US.

Looking at the Apple refurb store for the US, it's impossible to find a MacBook (Air or Pro) that is below $700.

Your best option would be to buy a refurb Mac Mini and a cheap external display, plus USB keyboard and mouse.

If you can push a bit more, you can spring for this one: http://store.apple.com/us/product/G0R70LL/A/Refurbished-Mac-Mini-26GHz-Dual-core-Intel-Core-i5

This one is fairly powerful and should last you for 5 years or more.

AlexandraMassey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2015

Looking at the Apple refurb store for the US, it's impossible to find a MacBook (Air or Pro) that is below $700.

Your best option would be to buy a refurb Mac Mini and a cheap external display, plus USB keyboard and mouse.