Pop-Up Zapper??? P L E A S E???

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by jes13, Feb 2, 2003.

1. jes13 macrumors member

Hi I worked as a hostess for AOL (years ago) - someone created a pop-up (disconnect pop-up screen thingy) 'zapper' that we could install to prevent us from getting disconnected while downloading or in a chat room... Does Mac have such a 'zapper' so I don't have to sit here for 6 hours or so when I'm 'upgrading' (downloading) something???

Thanks sooo much. Sitting here - or setting a timer for every 1/2 hour when downloading is stressful 'cos if I miss it - then I'm 'booted out' and have to start over again

Jeanne:(

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

3. medea macrumors 68030

medea

Well I'm going to let you know that your post makes zero sense really, a pop-up zapper would be something that keeps pop-up ads from well popping up, I think what your talking about is something to resume downloads in case you are disconnected online, in which case you might want to check out speed download http://www.yazsoft.com/ I dont use it myself because I'm on cable and have no use for it, but try it. If you are on a 56k modem, there is nothing that will keep you from getting disconnected because programs do not determine that, your phone line usually does.
    I'm just guessing your using OS X....

4. jes13 thread starter macrumors member

Zapper!

Thanks Medea!

I found what I want - and no not just for the ads, it's helping me (using it now) so I can download without worrying about the idiot box coming up telling me it's gonna disconnect me for being 'idle'....

Jeanne

5. jes13 thread starter macrumors member

edesignuk
    Zapper

Sorry edesignuk, so many other things in your 'reply' I missed your question! OS 10/3 (upgraded to 3)

:)

Jeanne

6. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|