popups on tiger

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by andych, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. andych macrumors member

    andych

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    #1
    does the tiger O.S have a popup stopper?..
    having heated debate with a p.c user?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    No, not really.. there's built-ins in Safari and Firefox (amongst others) that "block" pop-ups, but these are a function of the browser(s) and not Tiger.

    Now, if you mean spyware, there's none for Mac OS X, so you win (or loose, depending on your stance in the arguement).
     
  3. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #3
    Pop-ups are browser based- Safari is Tiger's browser. Tiger ships with Safari. I would say yes.
     
  4. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #4
    Yes, Safari has a pop-up blocker.

    Also Firefox blocks pop-ups.

    Camino, another Mozilla based Mac Browser has pop-up blocking and even more extensive blocking with CamiTools installed.

    So the answer is - yes.
     
  5. indigoflowAS macrumors 6502

    indigoflowAS

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #5
    what's a pop up?:p havent seen one in a while...they do sneak through every once in a while...

    pop ups are so 1999.

    command-k to enable pop up blocking in Safari
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I guess that depends on how you look at it.
    New Macs with Tiger also ship with iDVD & iMovie, but I wouldn't say that DVD Movie creation is "built into Tiger".
     
  7. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #7
    Sorta true... the problem with blocking popups at my home computer and on my work computer (the computers I'm using 99% of the time) is that when I use somebody elses computer and a popup comes up that says "System Error" or something that looks like a windows error it puzzles me for a bit and I try to figure out what the system error is...

    I'm sooooo not used to popups that when they happen I almost believe them. To me... popups are dead. I just assume they're dead for everybody else too. :p
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    It's pop UNDERS that kill me.

    Or places that use pop-ups to do bank logins or display bank info.. and WARN you to turn off pop-up blockers before attempting to do X. Why not change your code since everyone and their grandma knows that pop-ups are a hassle?
     
  9. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #9
    Safari comes on the Tiger install DVD though, iLife doesn't.
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Semantics & the splitting of hairs.. the OP didn't ask what came on the installers.
    Another example then.. Does Tiger OS have built-in port scanners?
     
  11. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #11
    The pop-unders bother me, too.

    The various sites which say that they're going to use pop-up windows are mostly fine for me because Firefox supports allowing pop-ups from certain sites with just a click and a selection. Doing my taxes with TaxCut online was like that. The whole application appeared in a pop-up window.

    Mac OS X, obviously, doesn't support pop-ups one way or another but the browsers certainly won't allow them.
     
  12. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #12
    Hardly semantics. If you do a default install of Tiger, you get Safari, which has a built in pop-up blocker. Its not optional as far as I can remember (or at least, you have to go to some trouble to not install it), Safari is part of Tiger.
    I don't believe that the Tiger install DVD has anything like nmap on it does it?
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    /Applications/Utilities/Network Utility.app

    Hardly "built-in", IMO, though it does come as a default install from OS X and the port mapping portion cannot be turned of.. agree to disagree I guess.
     
  14. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #14
    Ya, OK. I forgot that Network Utility could do port scans. What are we disagreeing about again?
     
  15. andych thread starter macrumors member

    andych

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    #15
    ok,just for the mix..
    on xp is the popup blocker built into the browser or is it a sperate thing altogether
     

Share This Page