Possibility of Boost Mobile on iPhone 3G?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by techage14, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Since some Boost Mobile phones use Sim cards, is there anyway to activate a phone that has Boost's $50 unlimited plan and use that sim in the iPhone 3G? I'm assuming you could just activate a plan with Boost, take the Sim card out of the phone, and insert it (along with a Rebel Unlocking Sim card) into the sim tray of the iPhone 3G and, you would get unlimited talk, text, & web. Do you think it's possible? I've tried google-ing it and nothing came up about it on the web. What are your thoughts?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #2
    I think it is a different kind of sim completly. I think its like the same as sprint and nextel.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #3
  4. macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I've honestly never heard of Boost Mobile.


    If it's CDMA (no SIM) it will not work with the iPhone. (as of now)

    Some of the lesser known companies use other technologies as opposed to GSM or CDMA. I think Virgin Mobile does something like that.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Honestly, I just found that out a few minutes ago. I was disappointed, naturally. iDEN network is similar to the GSM standard but, not close enough. If I where to put that Boost sim into my iPhone 3G, my iPhone would chew it up and spit it out in a vomit of bits and bites. :(
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #6
    The iBoost?

    Here is a thought,
    Boost supports CDMA & iDEN. Most of the customers are iDEN, but some of the early customers were CDMA. From what I understand, you are still able to get a new account as a CDMA and in some cases customer service will convert a iDEN customer to CDMA if you have lost your phone and only have a CDMA replacement. Soon the iphone will be available on Verizon, a CDMA carrier. Is it possible that you could get a new unlocked CDMA iphone and activate it on boost?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #7
    Really, Boost mobile? That would be your choce, Boost mobile? Think about that, Boost mobile. Good luck with that. Even a way more broken AT&T is better than boost mobile.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #8
  9. macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    Sorry

    IPhone going to verizon is only a rumor until Apple says it. Till then it remains a rumor. Verizon should really go gsm they would
    benifit from it greatly. Not just because of the iPhone most of the world is gsm.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    You really think it would make sense for them to switch to a different 2G technology at a cost of billions of dollars and making every handset any of their customers owns instantly obsolete just so they could provide poorer service (GSM really is a poorer 2G voice technology) for the couple of years that remain before they switch to 4G/LTE?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #11
    Rumour.

    If the iPhone goes to Verizon, the iPhone is the one changing to LTE, not Verizon. Changing a phone is much easier than changing the whole backbone of a nationwide network.

    But yeah, Boost Mobile is terrible. Text messages took 23 hours to arrive. Sorta defeats the point of a text message.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #12
    Oh thanks
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #13
    sucks to be you dude

    hey dude Boost Mobile is actually way better then AT&T cause guess what unlimited everything for 60 a month with blackberry mobile, hmm and freaking coverage all over North America, hmm 60 bucks unlimited everything to AT&T's 200 dollars hmm id go with Boost and dude freaking AT&T is getting rid of your iphones unlimited internet data packages so its going to lose alot of money from that so switch to BOOST MOBILE NOW :D
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #14
    Does that make a Kia better than a BMW just because it's a lot cheaper? No... You get what you pay for usually.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #15
    I'll stick with GSM ( a world-wide standard ) versus some niche market cell phone technology REGARDLESS of perception of good or bad quality.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #16
    True.
    But would you buy your kid a Kia, or a BMW?
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #17
    There's nothing wrong with Boost Mobile. Uses the same network as Sprint. Affordable plans. Phones are decent but nothing on the level of an iPhone currently. Certainly not analogous to Kia vs BMW comparisons as far as the network goes. If it was possible to get an iPhone or one of the really good Android phones to work on it, it would be a nice solution for a lot of people.
     
  18. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    Newbie's got mad Thread Necromancy skills.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #19
    you missed the whole point of the question I posted. I know the verizon iphone is a rumor. The question is if they make a verizon (CDMA) iphone is it technically possible to put it on boost?
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #20
    If Boost agrees to have phones on their network from other carriers, yes.

    MetroPCS is willing to flash any CDMA phone for you, onto their network, for example. It depends on Boost.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    #21
    Boost is growing faster, even I'm paying $55 month and I have unlimited direct connect,FREE calls to US or Mexico, yes FREE (there is a way to do it), without charges and I usually talk for more than 30 min FREE.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #22
    Boost mobile iphone

    You will be able to use it just download redsn0w and then just pop it in and you can talk and text nut you can't use the web i tried it and did it.!!!!!!!!!:apple: sucks
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #23
    not possible
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #24
    The answer is "NO", for the same reason the CDMA iphone cannot be on Sprint (at least not at the moment), there is No such a thing a an unlocked (or a locked for that matter) CDMA phone. CDMA networks works in different way the phone info need to be programmed on the network for the phone to even see it. (in a nutshell it is actually a bit more complex than that, but for the sake of this argument let's just dumb it down a bit).
     
  25. macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #25
    Must we bring these pointless threads back from the grave. A quick google will tell you boost won't work. Newbies just looking for attention.
     

Share This Page