Possibility of RAM change with new MB/MBPs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by SteveRichardson, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. SteveRichardson macrumors regular

    SteveRichardson

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #1
    I had previously purchased RAM for my MBP (which I haven't gotten yet), and I was wondering if there was any sort of possibility that Apple would change their RAM slot types with revisions to their products.

    Anyone know anything?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    i dont think so, unless a totally new model comes out (very unlikely).
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    i'm almost sure that it won't happen. the new Core 2 Duo is pin-compatible with the Core Duo, so it can work with the same RAM and motherboard. but the next one won't (Santa Rosa)
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Merom will be using the same bus speed as Yonah. (For now) So the same 667 MHz (PC2-5300) RAM will work.
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Probably will be the same RAM until the new chipset is used, which will probably require a faster RAM -- looks like PC2-6400 (DDR2 @ 800MHz.)
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis

Share This Page