Possible to change a BTO order?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cjkihlbom, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. cjkihlbom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone know if its possible to change a mac pro Build-to-order configuration? The order now has the status "Sent to manufacturing" and an estimated ship date of Aug 29.

    I didn't place the order with AppleStore directly, I went through a local reseller, and I'll call them when they open tomorrow morning. Just thought I'd ask here first since I'm inpatient :)
     
  2. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #2
    It probably depends how quickly in the process you catch it. Also, are you trying to give them more money or less? I have a feeling they'd be more flexible if you're trying to add on to an order rather than take away.
     
  3. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #3
    No good, not good at all. There is a good chance you may be out of luck. If I were you I’d call 1.800.MY.APPLE now and raise he** over it. Tomorrow morning may be too late.
     
  4. cjkihlbom thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #4
    The order has had the status "Sent to manufacturing" basically since I placed the order on August 8. And the Mac Pro hasn't started shipping here in Sweden yet, so I doubt that they've started on it.

    Also, I can't call Apple directly since I placed the order with a local reseller.

    I want to change from a 3.0 GHz to a 2.66 GHz so that I can get a 30" Cinema Display instead of a 23".
     
  5. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #5
    Your Reseller should handle any changes in your order.

    If you BTO'ed the ATI X1900 you're talking a 3-5 week backorder.

    I'd get a stripped 3.0 and work from there later.

    You can always up your graphics card later.

    If you ordered factory RAM upgrades, I'd shop around at Datamem.com or OWC
     

Share This Page