Possible to connect to a hidden wireless network?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by warhead55, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #1
    So I was using Stumbler on the ipod yesterday at school, and I found an unprotected but hidden wireless signal. When I went to connect to it, it wouldn't show up on the ipod touch, only when I use Stumbler will it show. My question is this, is it possible as of now to connect to that hidden network? If not, how hard will it be to code something so that the Ipod Touch can pickup hidden signals?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    You can enter a network name in the Settings menu and it should connect.
     
  3. JNB
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #3
    It's not so much hidden as it's just not broadcasting its SSID. Manually enter the network, if you were invited to, by just selecting "Other" in the Choose a Network section of the WiFi Preferences and entering the SSID in the Name field. It it's truly unprotected (meaning no network security imposed), then leave the Security field set to "None".

    Remember, just because it's unprotected doesn't mean you are permitted to access it.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Location: Rochester, NY
    #4
    When you go to select a WiFi network, choose "OTHER".

    :eek:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #5
    Oh god, I am such a fool. Thanks, let's hope the connection works!
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #6
    But how can you enter the network name??? If you use Stumbler on the iPod Touch and find hidden networks, the SSID is hidden - meaning you don't know the network name and therefore can't enter it in 'Manual Settings'. It shows the BSSID, i'm assuming thats its MAC address. But I dont think that helps? :confused:

    Any help??
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Eric Piercey

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Location:
    Perpetual Bondage
    #7
    I think that the idea of not broadcasting the SSID is to keep parasites off, no? :) Just silly not to put up a WEP too though, I'll admit.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    I understand your point, but I'm of the opinion that if someone doesn't bother using any security on their network, it is open. Open for anyone (including me on my iTouch) ;) to use ...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #9
    I realize what a hidden network is trying to do. I am trying to figure out how to use Stumbler. :)

    If you use Stumbler and find a hidden network, how do you connect to it as Stumbler still doesnt give you the SSID??
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #10
    Found this on www.wlanbook.com


    Edit: I just installed iStumbler on my macbook....and it shows the hidden SSID's!?!?! So, i guess the version for the ipod touch just can't do it??
     
  11. macrumors member

    jakdominance

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #11
    I am having a somewhat similar problem, but it's on a hidden network with a WPA personal password. I've found it on kismac on my macbook, however, even when putting it in manually a few times on my touch it says "could not find 'xxxxxxxx'". Why is this?
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #12
    If the router is already using a reasonably up-to-date encryption algorithm, then there's no good rationale to hide the SSID. Talk to the network administrator about fixing his configuration.

    But you're using kismac to identify the network in the first place, which most likely means that you don't have the administrator's permission to use the network. If that's the case, then personally, I'm relieved that this apparent bug exists in the iPod touch.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #13
    iPhone 4

    Hey guys I'm currently running into a similar problem. The wireless network that is setup at my residence is a hidden network. So I gave my landlord my MAC address to put it on the list. He confirmed it's on along with another macbook which seems to connect with no problem. My iPhone however won't connect to it. I tried joining the hidden network by punching in it's info.

    Unable to connect.

    Any suggestions?
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #14
    The iPhone 4 and iPod touch are unable to join 5 GHz networks. The iPad on the other hand can join 2.4 or 5 GHz. If your landlord uses an n-only network, your iPhone cannot join it without him changing the configuration.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #15
    My father in law has a linksys 2.4GHZ router and I can't get on it with my iPhone or iPad. Its hidden, but he gave me the name and the password. However whenever I try to find it it just tells me that it can not find the network name. Any ideas?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #16
    just to clear up that statement, all "N" type networks are not 5GHz actually more often than not an "N" type network is 2.4GHz. it takes a dual band "N" type (draft-N included) to run at 5GHz.

    i agree tho i cannot connect either of my (jailbroken/unlocked or untouched) Verizon iPhone 4 running v4.2.6 on the 5GHz side but i am running mine now on a dual band "N" on the 2.4GHz side set to "N" only. but i run into the same problem as everyone else if i turn of the SSID from broadcasting. i have even set it to broadcast > connected > then turn off broadcasting and it kicks me right off and doesn't let me re-join until i broadcast. i use mac filtering as well so its not that big of a deal broadcasting or not, but even turning all security off it still will not connect unless the SSID is broadcasting.
     

Share This Page