Possible Upgrades For Powermac G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacintoshMaster, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #1
    Hi there,
    I will soon be buying this powermac:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/APPLE-G5-POWE...Desktops_CV&hash=item3f047688b7#ht_4277wt_907

    I know it's fast as it is but I will be using logic pro 8 on it for some recording. Apps I will be using:

    iWork
    Microsoft Office
    iLife
    Logic Pro 8


    I want to upgrade it. The reason I just don't wait and save up for a second hand intel is because I need this computer FAST - So I want to upgrade it as a go along.

    I know the Max Ram is 8 gig but what is the maximum Hard Drive in space and speed? What type of hard drive would I need? Can it run solid state? Can the DVD drive be upgraded? Can the graphics card be upgraded? If so, which one? What other stuff can I upgrade?

    Thanks,
    J :apple:
     
  2. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    If you are set on that computer, it would be able to take a SSD. However, it would be limited 150MB/sec due to the speed of the SATA bus in that computer. So don't invest in a nice SSD and expect it to run at the full speed that it is capable of. Other than the RAM and the HDD, there really isn't that much that you could upgrade that would make that much of a difference.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #3

    So would a SSD be no faster than a good standard HD?
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    It would still be significantly faster, but you would not see the full benefit of the SSD. But once you get a new computer that has a SATA 3 bus, then you would be able to take full advantage of the SSD.
     
  5. MacintoshMaster, Dec 31, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #5
    Thankyou,
    Please could you tell me what SSD would work? And please could you tell me what type of standard HD would work and the size limit?

    Thank you very much.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    Any 2.5" SATA SSD would work, you just need to get a converter case like this.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #7
    Thanks!
    I have seen the prices of the SSD and I can't afford it - What type of standard HD would work? What is the limit in size (eg. 3TB)

    Thanks
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #8
    SSD? wth??

    the best upgrade you can do for that powermac your getting/buying is to up the ram to at least 6 gigs and stick in a updated video card, like the X800XT or similar...

    I wouldent really bother with an SSD in this unit as the bus transfer speed will limit the speed of the SSD.

    any any rate, a great box. :)
     

Share This Page