potluck dish - looking for ideas...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by gallagb, Aug 24, 2006.

1. gallagb macrumors 6502

gallagb

so hey-
    i now have just recently moved to a place where i know lots of people
    and they are _always_ having potlucks
    EDIT: like there are 3 potlucks this upcoming weekend
    and i never have any clue what to bring

so- here's the question- what do i bring?
    i can cook, i'm a good cook...
    i'm just really really indecisive

the community is about 50% vege 50% meat eaters
    there are a wide variety of food alergies- but nothing too outragious and often enough dishes that 'work' so it's not something i should worry about

i guess i'm looking for a dish that is relatively 'easy' to make- say under 2 hrs of total prep+cook time -- but- i'm open to other ideas

my parents were never into potlucks - so... they don't have any great 'family traditions' to pass on to me...ditto w/ the extended family-

any help?

2. Paul Wright macrumors regular

Paul Wright

Mmmm!

Well i would get a couple of McDonalds salads and add some more stuff into them so they dont look like theve come from McDonalds and yea :) lol i dont go to potlucks, not my thing lol :)

3. iGary Guest

iGary

Ground beef, macaroni, spaghetti sauce, mozarella - cook, mix together, bake at 350 for 20 minutes, done.

4. Tanglewood macrumors 6502a

Tanglewood

If you want to do a dessert I say go with mini cheese-cakes. They taste great and they're really easy to make. If you want I could get you my recipe.

5. floriflee macrumors 68030

floriflee

Here are some of my faves....

Appetizer:
    Artichoke Spinach Dip:
    1/4 C butter
    1 (14 oz) can of Artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
    1 (10 oz) pack of frozen chopped spinach, thawed
    2 (8 oz) pkgs of cream cheese, softened
    2 (8 oz) containers of sour cream
    1 C grated parmesan cheese
    pinch of garlic salt to taste

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat.