Powebook problems...

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Vasileios, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #1
    I have the last release powerbook 15'.
    So far everything was ok... but in the last 5 days something strange is happening. Then i put my powerbook to sleep, closing the screen i can "wake it up"... but if i leave the screen on (over night to download stuff, or just forget it...) the powerbook starts the sleep mode and after a couple of hours i can't wake it...
    The white line is on(which indicates that the powerbook is on sleep mode) but i press keys, trackpad, mouse... and nothing happenes!!! The only way is to hold the power button and restart it...!!!
    My powersavings are for better perfonmance... i also tried other settings but the results are the same...
    anybody experience the same problem or know what to do???
    Thanks
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Is it plugged into the wall? If it's a software issue, resetting the PMU and PRAM may help. I think the PMU reset has more chance of working. :)
     
  3. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    check to see if the hard disk goes to sleep after 2 hours that's normaly what stumps me on long night downloads- and the space bar get my powerbook out of sleep
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #4
    The PMU reset refers to PowerBook 190, 1400, 2400, 3400, and 5300 Series
    i have the new model...
    ???
    ???
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Hehe! Yeh, make sure you've got power!

    What software are you leaving to run? It the PowerBook only susceptible to 'crashing' when this app is loaded?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #6
    ... lol
    it's plugged...
    The software doesn't seems to matter...
    i does it, even without anything running...
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7

    Erm... :confused:

    There's a link to resetting the PMU at the bottom of the link I gave but I'm not sure I know what you mean. Which PowerBook do you have exactly and I'll try to link to that section of the page. :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #8
    The Octomber edition... 15' 1.67 1440x900 screen...
    Thanks for the help :)
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #10
    I am not sure about this reset... it seems a lot of trouble to me...:confused:
    I can't believe it!!!
    2000$ £@$@$@!!!
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Don't know why, but my link only seems to be working properly half the time. Sorry. :eek:



    It's really not that hard. Sure, the page I linked to made it sound worse than it is but you'll merely lose your time and date settings temporarily, until your computer re-syncs with the internet.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Vasileios

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    Greece
    #12
    Thank you for your time...
    i'll try it first thing in the morning....
    Hope it works...
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Me too. I'm not certain it will though. I heard of a similar problem from a friend recently and it ended up being a bad battery. Even if it is a bad battery though, Apple probably wouldn't do anything about replacing it until you reset the PMU for them anyway.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #14
    I had some wierd battery trouble with my pb, I took it back to the apple store and they said that some very early rev Es had pmu problems. I'd take it/send it back for a replacement if you can.
     

Share This Page