Power consumption

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nick9871, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. nick9871 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #1
    So I was just wondering if anybody noticed a increase in their power bill after replacing their old system. For those of you that had G5's then I would imagine its not a big upgrade. I had a relativley outdated Athlon 64 single core with a 480W max power supply. I beleive the MP's is aroudn 1400W max?

    I was just curious, not worried about affording it or anything, just pure curiousity.

    Oh and the curiousity struck b/c when i woke up the beast from its first sleep my lights dimmed (as if i was turning on a vacuum) LMAO!!! :)
     
  2. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #2
    my Mac Pro (3Ghz, 6GB memory, 2x 150G Raptors, 2x 320G Seagates, X1900) pulls 233 Watts under normal usage. I haven't seen it go above 350W yet.
     
  3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    How are you tracking power consumption? I've been curious to know what the real draw of my Mini and my G4 tower is, but don't know how to go about gettin' that info.
     
  4. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    My power company made a mistake this month and isn't charging me.

    I'm scared.

    On topic: The Mac Pro takes much more power, on average, than my dual 2.5ghz G5 did. On the other hand, I turned sleep mode off on the G5 so it wouldn't mess up the servers I had running.

    Everything about my Mac Pro takes more power--more processors, higher clock, higher RAM clock, more hard drives, etc.
     
  5. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #5
    I use a SeaSonic Power Angel
    http://www.bigbruin.com/reviews/powerangel/
     
  6. tvbi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #6
    I use kill-a-watt .. forgot how many watt exactly but I remember it costs pretty much around $8/month if it's on 24/7 (average use). $2 dollar more when comparing that to a AMDx64 pC I have
     

Share This Page