Power Cord Falling Out

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kevin86, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I just bought a brand new Apple TV and I having having a very difficult time with the power cord believe it or not.

    Is there some trick for getting it to stay in the hole? It's not magsafe is it?

    I try to push it all the way in but it won't go. When I just rest it in the hole it falls out very easily.

    HELP!! What am I doing wrong.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #2
    The powercord should fit pretty snugly (It takes some effort to get in and out).

    If the white portion at the end is not completely hidden when you push it in, its not in far enough. If it IS all the way in and you are having this issue, it would be a hardware problem.

    Kevin
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #3
    Thanks. I just got it working but the power cord is barely holding on. It's really weird.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #4
    Yeah the power cord should fit snugly inside. It should not be loose at all.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #5
    I would take it into an Apple Store if there is one near you. They would most likely just swap it out.

    Kevin
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #6
    Maybe I will bring it by tomorrow. It kind of sucks because I just bought it. I don't feel like going back out. Thanks for the help.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #7
    Kevin, thanks for the advice. I took the AppleTV back today and they did say it is defective. The replaced it with the last 40gb they had in stock.

    This time the power cord is very snug, but it fits!!

    Also, the person told me "don't forget to install the update when you get home". Guess he's jumping the gun a little bit.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #8
    Glad they replaced it. I've never seen one with that issue (and I've used a bunch).

    Kevin
     

Share This Page