Power Mac G4 and iPhone SDK

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by pjdaoust, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #1
    I am new to the Mac world and need to know ...

    Can I use a Power Mac G4 to develop iPhone applications ?

    I have a 400 mhz Power Mac with 512 meg of RAM and a 20 gig HD. Is this enough to run the OS that the iPhone SDK requires. I have a .dmg file that is named iphone_sdk_3.1.2_with_xcode_3.1.2_snow_leopard_10m2003.dmg.

    Will this G4 run Snow Leopard effectively or at all ?

    Am I barking up the wrong tree with this old dog ? I'd rather know now so I don't waste my time chasing my tail and instead get the right hardware and software to get going with this.

    PJD
     
  2. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    You can't install Snow Leopard on non-Intel machines.

    And Leopard (by default, but you can get around this) will refuse to install on machines less than a G4 800mhz (or 867).
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Leopard or Snow Leopard required.

    You can get a MacMini.

    No need to pirate the sdk. You can get the sdk from Apple. Software requirement is listed.
    http://developer.apple.com/iphone/
     
  4. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    Wuh? Pirate? That's the filename you get when you download it from Apple. Now that I mention it, I did download mine from TPB, but only because my internet was flaky and I'd lose my sign in after a period of time and my download would cut out.
     
  5. macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Doesn't the iPhone SDK require an Intel Mac?
     

Share This Page