Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Navare, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. Navare, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #1
    Hello folks

    First time poster here and pretty much a Mac novice, I bought a 533MHz (single CPU) G4 Digital audio desktop from a company I used to work for and got a little bored with it so loaned it to my parents to "Silver surf" and play with, is now been returned to me and I'm wondering what to do with it.....

    I would like to use it as an Audio/Video Media box and I'm wondering about CPU upgrades, I'm seeing a fair few on eBay different models, Dual CPU and very powerful single CPU and I'm wondering what I can use with my motherboard?, is there a comp chart someone can list for me or advise? I don't wanna go to crazy on power or money as I'm out of work right now but I want to boost the box, I'm already ordering more memory to max out at 1.5GB (1.12GB right now)and a DVD Rom so I can buy/load Leopard (OS X 10.4.11 right now) and upgrade all software and I'm looking at a 64MB graphics card....so those are the easy bits...

    What CPU can I use please?

    Many thanks in advance

    N.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can use any G4 except for a Quicksilver or Mirror Drive Door (MDD) or XServe one. Basically any Sonnet, PowerLogix, or Apple OEM (except for those mentioned above) will work. For a quick powerful video card, I suggest the Nvidia GeForce 6200.
     
  3. Navare, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #3
    Thanks Intell

    Just a follow up how do I tell from those listed on eBay what's a Silver or MDD?
    I've looked at the images and most look as if the will not fit compared to the size of my current daughter card and where the memory socket is

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359603274.678960.jpg

    Thanks again

    N.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    MDD, Xserve, and Quicksilver G4's are not square or rectangular. They have a part of the CPU that sticks out. Here are some examples of various G4 CPUs you can look at:
    A MDD/Xserve - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-820-1...ard-/380566592222?pt=CPUs&hash=item589b895ade
    A Quicksilver - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Power...4-A-/380562587294?pt=CPUs&hash=item589b4c3e9e
    A square/rectangle one - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-G4-Pr...CPU-/270721374241?pt=CPUs&hash=item3f08405821

    Of those three, only the square/rectangle ones are compatible with your machine. Most third party (about 90%) are the square/rectangle kinds that will work in your machine.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    You can use most of QS CPUs in DA without problems. Only problematic one I've found is dual 800 which doesn't activate L3 cache when used in some DA machines. Dual 1.0 and 933 single are safer choice. You need to supply additional power to the CPU and install CPU fan, like in QS or 667/733 DAs.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    OWC [macsales.com] have single 1.8GHz or dual 1.6GHz G4 CPUs for DA models for $170-$340, new. I think they're made by Sonnet. That's what I'm looking at, one day, in the future, for my 466MHz DA G4.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #7
    Hmm I see (I Think)

    Is there anyway of back engineering Apple part numbers to be sure as contacting the sellers hasn't helped to clear up compatibility yet prior to purchase....would any of the following fit a G4 DA without issues?

    630-4678
    630-4531
    820-1344

    Respectfully

    N.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Of above only 820-1344. Rest is for MDD and won't fit. 820-1344 is even overclockable to 1.07 GHz.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #9
    Hmm thanks 666sheep

    There is a 820-1344 800MHz on eVilbay for not too silly money....can I ask how easy/what's involved in over clocking as you eluded too my friend?

    Kind regards

    N.

    ----------

    Gods now I'm really loosing it 820-1344 is listed as Quicksilver and Intell is saying above to avoid Quicksilver CPU's.....I'm loosing the plot now rapidly.....

    N.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    To clarify things:
    820-1344 933 MHz with 2MB L3 (from QS 2002) can be OC'ed to 1.07 (requires soldering). This is the best single QS CPU. Second one is 867 MHz w/ 2MB L3. This one doesn't OC that high.

    I guess that Intell meant CPUs that will work plug'n'play.

    QS CPUs do require some light mods to work in DA:
    - supplying 12V power to the 4th hole of CPU daughtercard
    - adding CPU fan (see 733 DA or any QS for instance)
    - QS CPU heatsink
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #11
    Hi 666sheep

    Thanks for the clarification....I'm not really that hands on to handle the mods you suggest....so will stick to standard or Sonnet upgrades rather than QS....but I'm allot wiser now....just trying to decide if I should bite the bullet and order a sonnet from China

    Kind regards

    N.
     
  12. 666sheep, Jan 31, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    I'm far from encouraging you to do these mods, but it's quite simple when you can solder. It would be perfect if you'd score 7448 single CPU card, but they are rare and pricey. For best bang for buck, look for 7455 based upgrade. These are usually clocked lower than 7447 ones but L3 cache does its job very well. 1.4 7455 will outperform 1.6 and even 1.8 7447 easily.

    Edit: some CPU upgrades require firmware update. Ensure that one you'll buy will have needed updater included on a CD (if it needs it OFC). It's hard to obtain updater sotware for some CPUs these days.
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    Sheep is right. The Quicksilver CPU's will work, but you'll need to do some extra work first.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #14
    Intell
    Are all the Nvidia GeForce 6200 AGP cards powermac compatible my friend? Rookie question I know...

    Many thanks

    N.
     
  15. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Yes, they are compatible with all PowerMac G4's expect the the first PCI only one and the MDD one. You'll have to flash your own or buy a pre-flashed one because no Mac version of this card ever existed. You'll also have to tape off two of the pins (easy to do, Google how). But in return you'll get one of the fastest video cards that your machine can use.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #16
    Erm mines a G3 fella?...how do I flash it?

    N.
     
  17. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    Your machine is a G4. You need a x86 PC with an APG slot to flash it.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #18
    Ah yeah my bad....It is in fact a G3 Digital Audio S/N CK101H75K6W

    N.
     
  19. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    That's a G4. There never was a G3 Digital Audio and Apple didn't make G3 PowerMacs in 2001 and there never was a G3 PowerMac with an AGP slot.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #20
    As Intell said, it's a G4 (more specifically, this G4).

    If it was a G3, it would look like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  21. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #21
    Ah crap....ill get the hang of this soon....lol

    N.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #22
    As long as you know the serial number, you can find the specs of most any Apple product using everymac.com. Sometimes the data is spotty/incorrect, but you get the gist of what things are.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #23
    Hi MisterKeeks

    I've done that now and got every scrap of system info....cheers

    N.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #24
    Hello folks

    Well just goes to show what hard work and good Karma can bring.....currently in transit to me now is a Sonnet Encore/ST 1.2GHz single CPU taken directly from a G4 DA machine...$60 shipping included

    My Boot Rom is up to date and I've ordered my Heat sink thermal past remover/re applicator and an additional 2x 60mm cooling fans to improve casing ventilation.

    So my first big upgrade begins.....thank for all the advice and I will post some pictures in due course

    Warmest regards

    Navare.
     

Share This Page