Power Mac G4 "Sawtooth" Power Supply Upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by p0intblank, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
  3. macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    Be very careful with PS on the G4 towers. There are 20, 22 and 24 pin connector power supplies. Make sure that you have a 20 or 24 pin connector on your motherboard. You can then use any 20 + 4 ATX power supply that you can get at newegg. If you have the 22, you're SOL. These things were made for some of the models (DA, and some of the later Gigabits), and you'll need to find one of those on ebay, or somewhere.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    So basically check out the motherboard and if it's 20-pin, then get a 20-pin PSU off newegg and I'm fine? No messing with wires is required? I'm just clarifying so I order the correct model.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #6
    From what I remember, there was no need to switch out any of the wires around on the Sawtooth. If you do have the 22 pin model, then follow the link that livingfortoday gave you.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I checked and it is indeed a 20-pin connector. I guess I'll go ahead and order the PSU if everything's a go...
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #8
    Actually, after doing some research, livingfortoday was right....:eek:

    You will need to do some re-wiring, but it invoves slicing 2 cables. Follow the guide that he linked you to that describes which wires need to be added. A regular ATX PS will work, nonetheless.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    Hmm... I'm going to have to get my dad to help me with that part. I'm not comfortable with splicing wires and he's really good with that kind of stuff. I trust it's fairly easy, correct? The instructions don't look too painful.
     

Share This Page