Power Mac G4 "Yikes!" - Trying to install OS X Snow Leopard onto a new hard drive

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by takethislife, May 30, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #1
    Hello, as the title says, I am trying to install OS X Snow Leopard onto my Power G4 with a new (but partitioned) hard drive, and I am having problems. Whenever I hold "c" after hearing the power chime, it does nothing and show the flashing finder and question mark. When I hold down alt/option it just shows two buttons - one with a "refresh" arrow, and one which looks like a "next" arrow, which does nothing when I click it. Could anyone please assist me with this? Thanks in advance.

    Also, this is my first post on this forum, and I'd like to give a warm and humble hello to you all!

    - Alex
     
  2. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    It is not possible to install snow leopard on a PPC machine.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Snow Leopard only supports Mac with Intel CPUs. It cannot be installed on a G4.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #4
    What is the highest OS that can be installed onto it?
    (Good thing I borrowed the CD from a friend!)
     
  5. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #5
    As far as I can remember, 10.4 is the newest supported version for that machine, however 10.3 may be a better choice if you have limited RAM.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #6
    So, would that be "Tiger"?
    Sorry, this is my real first time actually using a Macintosh machine.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #7
    Yep, 10.4 is the latest supported version. You will need at least 1GB RAM to run 10.4 well, and 1.5GB would be better (if that much is supported by that computer)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #8
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #9
    I'm not planning on spending TOO much on this thing, but if I come into some extra money (or feel like taking an old machine apart) I'll put some new chips into it. Thanks!
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #10
    OS 10.5 can be installed on some G4 machines, depending on the processor speed. However, "LeopardAssist" can get you around those limitations.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Having got it on my G4/450 Sawtooth I would highly recommend against installing 10.5 on anything under a 667 G4 without upgrading the Graphics. I tried it on the original Rage 128 and it is, to say the least, absolutely diabolical. (Think waiting a noticeable number of seconds to open a window with the dull dock and spotlight and a host of other things off).
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #12
    You're right about that. My sawtooth was upgraded to 1.3GHz and is just "OK" with Leopard.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #13
    Yes. Running anything from Tiger beyond without a Quartz Extreme graphics card (Radeon/Geforce2 or better on an AGP or better bus) is really painful, as much of the graphics processing is offloaded (slowly) to the CPU, which slows down the whole system. A Yikes G4 can only do Quartz Extreme with hacked video drivers to allow QE over PCI; this still requires a Radeon/Geforce2 or better. I wouldn't go above 10.3 with the stock video card in that machine.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cair Paravel
    #14
    Unless you have software that requires 10.4 Tiger, I'd put 10.3 Panther. Tiger needs "a lot" of RAM.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #15
    You can go to 10.5.8 Leopard. That's the highest it'll take. I have one.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #16
    3 1/2 years after the question, but better late then never as the saying goes.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~~~~by Reno sorta
    #17
    I'd stick with Tiger. Toss in some more ram and a Radeon 9200 PCI card and you'll be on your way with a nice old Mac!
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Skip the ATI 920" and go with a GeForce 5200. It'll give you CoreImage, but you'll loose OS 9 video acceleration.
     

Share This Page