Power Mac G5: Did I get the wrong Airport Card?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lPHONE, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    So I have the dual-core 2.33GHz G5 and I ordered this card. I installed it with the run way card or whatever it's called. The bluetooth works great, but I get no Wireless. Other computers work fine so I know it's not the network. Did I get the wrong card?
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    It says nothing about PowerMacs in its description:

    Where Used : Mac (17-inch), iMac (20-inch), iMac G5 (17-inch iSight), iMac G5 (20-inch iSight), iMac G5 ALS (17-inch), iMac G5 ALS (20-inch), Mac mini (Late 2005), PowerBook G4 (15-inch Double-Layer SD), PowerBook G4 (17-inch Double-Layer SD)


    How does it connect? Via this run way card?

    [​IMG]

    What does System Profiler say under Network > Airport?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Wrong card. AirPort and BT are separate on the PowerMacs, not a single board.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    on the core 2's, they're on the same card with something called a "run way" card.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #6
    I didn't think it would matter.
    YES.

    Airport Card Type: Airport Extreme
    Airport Card Local: USA
    Airport Card Firmware 405.1 (3.90.34.0.p18)
    Current Wireless Network: No network selected
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #8
    when I click on the little Airport icon, it doesn't even try (spinning wheel) to find a network.
    My G5 doesn't take that antenna, it's the one with the strip on the back.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    The dual-core models had the combo bluetooth/airport card so you have the right card. They also had built in antennas so they didn't have the little antennas ports on the back.

    OS seems to recognize it so that is fine. Only problem I can probably see is reception. Did you hook up the right cable for the bluetooth and airport? Maybe you mixed up the two or not connected it properly? Try taking off your side panel to help get a better signal, as the aluminum kills wireless reception. Just make sure you connected the cable antennas properly and securely.
     

Share This Page