Power Mac G5 Logic Board?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Des Zac, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #1
    I ordered this a couple months ago and I wanted to start working on it but I have some questions, here is a picture where I labeled some of the stuff I know and put some question marks next to the stuff I don't.

    [​IMG]


    Sorry for the quality, MS Paint is the only Image editing program I have at the moment...
    Which is why I am desperate to finish this!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    question mark above the ram is for the airport extreme card to plug into. IE 802.11g.

    the one next to the airport slot is where the front fans plug into so that the processors can have direct cool air intake.

    the other is where the antenna plugs into the airport card so you can have wireless on that board. the other wire is the bluetooth antenna

    as for the PSU plugs, they both are. the PSU has 3 wires that come out. 2 to plug into the board, and the third plugs into a hard drive power cable that tucks in behind the logicboard.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #3
    Okay, thanks a lot! I have another question, other than the Processor, PSU, and case, (Of course I don't technically need the case for this) Do I need anything else to see if it turns on? Not to the OS, just to see if I have a working board.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    the case is one thing, but you will need the power on board. it attaches to the logicboard via a small cable. you will need ram, a cpu and the psu.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #5
    Okay, I already have 512 Megabytes of RAM, but I plan on up-ing it to 2GB, and I already have a 1.8GHz processor that I plan on buying probably later this week. and I have to wait a while because the Case+PSU goes for about $60 on ebay. Could you suggest a place to get parts for a G5 cheap?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    ok, the ram has to be installed in pairs. IE 128 & 128, 256 & 256, 512 & 512 and 1 GB & 1 GB. your G5 is like this...

    1 - ********
    2 - ********
    3 - ======
    4 - ======

    5 - ======
    6 - ======
    7 - ********
    8 - ********

    === is usable ram slots

    so ram would go in pairs like slots 4 & 5, 3 & 6.
    slots 1, 2, 7 and 8 are not soldered on your logicboard.
    Max of 4 GB of DDR 400 memory. anything slower and the G5 won't turn on.

    As for a place to get cheap G5 parts, aka the case parts and internals, either ebay or your local online ads like kijiji or craigslist.

    other parts like ram, HD and cd/dvd, any place you get local pc parts.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #7
    Could I have no internal HDDs and only use an External HDD until I can get an Internal HDD?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    well since the G5's have no eSATA, and booting from USB is a no-go, i would say internal, or try booting from an IEEE1394 compliant device, aka firewire. Other than that, nope.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #9
    You'll also need metal dividers for the logic board, so the fan can slide into place.

    What parts are you missing for that board, or do you only have the board. If that's the case, I'd advise you to not purchase a single thing for to complete the computer. The G5s are not all that expensive, and parts costs will exceed the cost of buying an assembled one.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    MAC MAN JW

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo,Ny
    #10
    don't try the system bord and cpu with out cpu fans it will fry your g5 chip.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #11
    I have the logic board and this metal plate that screws into the Board in three places, I Cannot afford a G5 even though it's only 200ish, that is why I am building one piece by piece. I plan on buying a broken one for maybe 50-90 dollars and taking the things like the metal dividers, case, and fans and other parts if they work.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #12
    I have everything that you need. Do you know if this board works or not? You can run this one one CPU if you don't have two as long as it's in the upper slot.

    There are a few sensors that you need too and all the system fans if you want to get it running.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #13
    I picked up a 2.7GHz Dual (complete, minus video card) for just $50 and change from a local liquidator. Of course, the 2.7ghz models have a liquid cooling issue, so be prepared for a big cleanup & rebuild job if you're going to buy one of those. Some have had luck with apple replacing the entire machine with a mac pro, but that's if you don't mind (I did) lugging a G5 through a crowded mall;)

    If you want to send me the text on your sticker (by the RAM slots), I'll find what CPU that you need.

    Be prepared to spend WELL over $200 if you're going to take on a rebuilding project. The CPUs alone are pretty expensive, and you might have to stick the boards in a cardboard box to make budget ;)
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #14
    Okay, I'll get home around 3ish so I'll try and get you that info then, it's 9:28 AM where I am now
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #15
    J54180QDQRLB* 630-6291

    Is that what you mean?

    Thanks for the help guys ;D
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #16
    UPDATE: Okay, the processor (1.8Ghz) Is coming today or tomorrow, and it turns out I had a PSU that is perfect for the board. I still have 512 RAM but that is the least of my worries right now.


    With those three things, is it okay to try a boot test, just to see if the board works?
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #17
    I THINK it's a bit more complicated than this - the G5 has sensors!
     
  18. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Well, I picked up a Graphics card, so now on to the case. After that I'll get the fans and sensors etc. This is a project I don't mind putting time in.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #19
    Wish you all the luck on your project, the amount of knowledge that you will gain will surpass the amount of investment in terms of time and money.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #20
    Thanks! I really hope it works in the end, this is gonna be my new main computer :p
     

Share This Page