Power supply G3 b/w kaput - what are my options?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by UK61, Dec 21, 2003.

  1. UK61 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    #1
    Hi to all
    I have bought a used G3 b/w in fine condition with 500MHZ - machine was working great when testing it.
    But...after carrying it home and connecting I accidently short circuited it. Looks like the power supply is dead - don't know about other parts yet.

    Now I found out what power supply originally is built in, a API-8594 /
    Power Supply PM G3 Blue & White (p/n 661-2107) 614-0085.
    This is hard to get where I live and rather expensive too.
    Do I have any other option, are there any other power supplies one could use for this machine?

    TIA for any input!
     
  2. UK61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    #3
    >ebay
    True, I'm already monitoring ebay. Not much on offer right now over here.
    The thing is I would like to have a fast way to test the machine - is it only the power supply or has more been destroyed? If it's really just the power supply I'd definitely be willing to spend the money on an original part.
     
  3. e-coli macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #4
    It's not worth it to fix it. The power supply is the most expensive part of the computer to replace. Obviously except for the logic board.

    I would say just buy a new computer. It'll pbbly be about the same cost.

    Sorry. That stinks. :(
     
  4. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #5
    Some PC power supplies can be modified to work on Powermacs, search www.xlr8yourmac.com for more info, I swear I saw something like that in there...
     
  5. UK61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    #6
    >most expensive
    Hmm, I could get the power supply for something like 140-150 €. A good b/w G3 goes for around 500-700 €....

    Thanks for the tip, vniow, going to look into that.
     
  6. UK61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    #7
    Great tip, thanks!

    Looks like any ATX supply will do - provided the motherboard connector is long enough. One slight modification needed. I probably have an ATX supply in an old box somewhere..

    For reference:
    xlr8yourmac.com/systems/MacinPC_ATX_case/Blue_G3_to_ATX.html
     
  7. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #8
    Same thing happened to me, I got a new PS from computer DNA for 100 bucks.

    www.cdna.com
     
  8. UK61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    #9
    Well, I'm happy to report a simple atx PS does the job after snipping the -5 cable on the mainboard connector. Only problem is the length of the cables, have placed the HD on top of the CD drive for now.
    But - perhaps it was just the fuse in the original PS, going to replace it with a new one and see if it works again.
     

Share This Page