Power Supply iMac G4 dead

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iDutchman, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #1
    Hi,

    I have the opportunity to buy a 17" iMac 1.25Ghz USB 2.0 model.
    With the box and all the stuff.

    Now, here's the deal. I have a perfect functioning iMac G4 15" 700Mhz.
    It's in pristine condition. But the hunger for power is always there.

    As it is a hobby, could I get the power supply out of the the iMac G4 15" to put it in the iMac G4 17"? To make it function again?

    Or is this just silly?:rolleyes:
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    No, you can't. Logic board and LCD power connectors are completely different.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Id buy it and then get a fully functioning iMac G4 17" PSU from eBay.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #4
    I'd might do that.

    Is it hard to replace the PSU? I've already done a HD upgrade and RAM in my current one. So I'm familiar inside.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Great Midwest
    #5
    It's not that hard to replace. My imac G4 power supply went out and it was somewhat easy to take out. Watch out, the capacitors could have juice in them.
     

Share This Page