Powerbook 15" to 12" downgrade

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by nesbitt_a, Jul 12, 2004.

1. nesbitt_a macrumors 6502

Hi guys,

I'm thinking of downgrading my 15" 1.25 superdrive powerbook to a top of the range 12" for pure portability. I'm a student - with a 30 minute cycle every day to and from lectures. I spend all day at the labs as its so far from my home, and think the 12" will be superb portability wise. I can't wait to pop it open a lunch to check my emails!

I've used and loved my 15" for nearly 6 months now. Just find it a little big for what I use a laptop for. Does anyone think I'm mad? Id love to hear from IT techies who use the 12" powerbook daily.. or students...

Cheers, Andy.

2. Ryan1524 macrumors 65816

Ryan1524

damn it. don't do this to me. i have a 15" Pb too, and after helping my friend choose a notebook, my old love for the 12" Pb was sparked back alive and kicking. he chose the 12" and after re-iterating to him the advantages of either model, and seeing him choose that one..i got into thinking again. NO. i love my 15". no...Must. Be. Strong.

LOL. :p

3. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

I think your making a wise decision if you find the 15" a little big for what you do. I wouldn't want the downgraded screen size because i use my 15" mostly as a dektop but i travel sometimes so it's good from me. I think if your constantly on the move you would want a small computer. I think it is a wise choice to do that. Good luck.

4. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

blue&whiteman

it will be more portable yes but its not going to be a big enough difference to be worthy of switching systems. just look at the specs on the apple site. the 15 is biger but not huge. the 15 is the best of both worlds.

5. belf8st macrumors member

I downsized my revb 15" powerbook to the rev c 12" powerbook as they were released. Portability became more important than the extra screen real estate. I've been extremely pleased with the 12".