Powerbook 667Mhz DVI: are all drivers included on standard 10.4 install disc?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Treymac, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys. I just got a powerbook yesterday. It has 10.3 on it with a bunch of apps and stuff pre-installed. But when I launch some of the apps, it freezes. So I want to just get 10.4 and install it and start fresh. But do I need a special powerbook install disc, or can I just go out and buy the newest standard OSX version, which will include all the drivers that I would need for it?
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #3
    the retail 10.4 disk will have everything you need
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #4
    The retail version of Tiger (10.4) will have everything except the iLife apps. They only come with a new machine (the install discs that came with your powerbook initially) otherwise they are sold separately.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    What the hell is a driver?
    (Must be one of those PC folk).
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #6
    Ha,

    actually yeah, I usually custom-install to NOT load the drivers (printer drivers)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #7
    There are still drivers, though they are stored in files called plists. In Linux they are called modules, or are built right into the kernel.
     
  8. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    /System/Library/Extensions
     
  9. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    Get out of here. Next you're gonna try and convince me that Macs have command prompts too. I don't buy your witchcraft.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #10
    Thats called the terminal, same in Linux :D. The commands are just different. ;) ;)
     
  11. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
  12. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #12
    Sure, lets go with that! :D
     

Share This Page