PowerBook AS external monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by pit29, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #1
    Dear all,

    I am thinking about using my PowerBook G4 as an external monitor of my new MBP. Is that possible? Do I neet any software?

    Hints are geratly appreciated. Thank you!

    Pit
     
  2. reflex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    There's a recent thread about this, maybe do a search for it.

    In short though: it's not easily possible.
     
  3. pit29 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #3
    found one saying "no"

    I found one thread saying: no. I found none saying "possible, but though...". So no possibilities? I thought, maybe via airport ... with some kind of program (not Apple Remote Desktop, maybe that works, but I do not own it)...

    Pit
     
  4. davegoody macrumors 6502

    davegoody

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire, England
    #4
    If you are looking at a "remote desktop type solution" . . . .

    You could try VNC instead of Apple Remote Desktop as it is freeware for personal use !
     
  5. pit29 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #5
    Sorry for not pointing that out earlier: I would use the 2nd display for Aperture and Final Cut Express... Is VNC still an option? I do not think so after looking at its documentation.

    Pit
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    It is not possible, as the DVI port on the laptop is video OUT only.

    The best you could do is use Synergy to create a software KVM to switch between the Macs, but all the apps that you'd be using would be relegated to the Mac (and it's processor and whatnot) you were currently switched to.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    any remote connection will be kinda slow compared to having it hardwired. plus i believe the vnc option will only let you have two screens but not be able to share things between the screens and not share the files between the computers easily.

    assuming your powerbook screen was a 15 in one, I would reccomend getting an lcd monitor. I believe 15 in ones are like 120-150ish so not terribly expensive
     

Share This Page