PowerBook buying troubles - cost and resolution.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Calihafan, Nov 22, 2004.

1. Calihafan macrumors member

I am a student and an aspiring graphic designer (Photoshop is the only program I REALLY know, but hopefully I will learn Flash or Illustrator soon). I have my heart set on a 12-inch PowerBook. The portability is important to me, because my friend and I are trying to start up a web design business and I need to be able to transport my computer. Fortunately, I have a really really nice 19-inch monitor at my house for expanded screen size while at my house. My two woes are -

1.Expense - I am nowhere near the amount of money I need ($1600 for the 'book, then another $290 for a gig of ram - I'm not paying Apple $700 to put in a stick of ram, plus $280 for Photoshop). Then I'll be set. But it is a lot of money. Are there any people in the forums who have saved up for a Mac (preferably as a student) and what jobs I could do to get this as soon as possible!

2. Resolution - This is not as important to me, mainly because I went to the Apple Store and the screen was detailed enough for me. The size of the screen doesn't bother me (12.1 inches, really it's fine when I'm on the road), but my friend (who has a really nice 15 inch PB) tells me that the difference between the two laptops is not their performance, it's their resolution. Graphic designers are supposed to want more resolution in their monitors, but the PB is fine! Is there anyone who can tell me just how important this is?

I absolutely can not wait to become a Mac User. I'm sick of Windows, though we've never really had a major problem. There is no alternative for me against the PowerBook; I have had numerous people tell me not to get the iBook.

Any help would be gratefully accepted!

Calihafan

2. tech4all macrumors 68040

tech4all

Welcome to Macrumors!